Listed here are encyclopedias and dictionaries that will provide an overview of a topic or brief information about people, dates, events, trends, concepts, and terminology. Encyclopedia articles and dictionary entries often lead to key books on a topic.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements DBW reference KZ 4968.O84
Great Debates at the United Nations: An Encyclopedia of Fifty Key Issues, 1945-2000 DBW reference KZ 4968.G67 2001
Historical Dictionary of International Organizations DBW reference JZ 4838.S34 1998
Historical Dictionary of the International Food Agencies: FAO, WFP, WFC, IFAD DBW govt HD 9000.1.T34
Historical Dictionary of the International Monetary Fund DBW reference HG 3881.I58H86 1993, 2011
Historical Dictionary of the United Nations DBW govt JZ4984.5.F66 2007
Historical Dictionary of the World Bank DBW reference HG 3881.5.W57S25 1997, 2014
Yearbook of the United Nations DBW govt JX 1997.A37Y4
United Nations Documentation: Research guide This site presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the United. The guide also provides information on actions taken by the General Assembly as well as the Security Council and introduces researchers to major fields of UN activities: human rights, international law and peacekeeping.
United Nations. Scholars' Workstation This site from Yale University provides a collection of texts, finding aids, data sets, maps, and pointers to print and electronic information. Subject coverage includes disarmament, economic and social development, environment, human rights, international relations, international trade, peacekeeping, and population and demography.
