Western Libraries

Country Profiles

Country profiles assist in finding information about a specific country or region. Historical, political, economic, cultural and other information can be found here.

Country Profiles

Canadian Dept. of Foreign Affairs and International Trade - Countries and Regions
This website provides brief facts and information about over 200 countries worldwide. Each country listing includes a basic fact sheet, a map, information about Canadian relations with the chosen country, contact information for the Canadian Embassy and Canadian Consulate in the chosen country, travel reports and other selected information sheets appropriate to the country, such as: services for business, trade and investment and developmental assistance.

U.S. Department of State - Countries and Regions 
This website provides access to regional information compiled by the U.S. Department of State, as well as background information for more than 200 countries around the world. These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy and foreign relations of each country.

BBC News - Country Profiles
This website, maintained by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC), provides access to full profiles for countries, territories and international organizations. Each profile provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of the country or territory, as well as background information on key economic institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

Fact Sheets: U.S. Bilateral Relations with….(U.S. Department of State)

Latin American Network Information Centre (LANCIC): Country Directory

North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) Report on the Americas

Political Database of the Americas

International Country Profiles

Economist Intelligence Unit: Country by country

CIA World Fact Book

Europa World Plus

World Health Orgainization - Countries

International Social Security Association – Social Security Country Profiles

Library of Congress Country Studies
101 countries and regions are covered. The original intent of the series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser-known areas of the world or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed.

Political Handbook of the World

Contact

Weldon Library Research Help
Contact:
The D.B. Weldon Library
519-661-3162
Website / Blog Page

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian