Statistical Research (including Data Sets)
China Data Online
Comprehensive online database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories.
COMPUSTAT via WRDS
Includes both North America and Global. Fundamental and market information on active and inactive publicly held companies.
Datastream is a global, historical Thomson Financial database including company financials and daily pricing and volume information on over 37,000 equities from 57 countries.
Free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
from 1961 to the most recent year available.
The International Labour Organization is the world's leading source on labour statistics.
IMF eLibrary Data
IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
Key Business Ratios
Industry benchmarks compiled from D&B’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.
Includes Statistics Canada datasets, datafiles from Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files such as the Canadian National Election Surveys and selected files from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research.
Includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
MSCI via WRDS
MSCI ESG KLD STATS is an annual data set of positive and negative environmental, social, and governance (ESG) performance indicators applied to a universe of publicly traded companies.
S&P Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ offers financials, valuation, qualitative data and more.
An Excel add-in is available for use in library.
SDC Platinum from Thomson Financial is a collection of databases specializing in Mergers & Acquisitions, Joint Ventures and IPO's.
Statistics Canada produces statistics that help Canadians better understand their country—its population, resources, economy, society and culture.
More than 150 indicators and statistical time series essential for the analysis of: trade, economic trends, population and more.
Contains over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, and more.
World Bank: Global Consumption Database
Data on household consumption patterns in developing countries.
World Bank Open Data
Maintains a number of macro, financial and sector databases.
WRDS: Wharton Research Data Services
Data available are mainly related to business and finance and WRDS hosts the major numeric data sets used by academic researchers.
WRDS is only available to current Western Master's and PhD students, staff and faculty members.
Contact the Johnston Library