The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence
Publication Date: 2015
In 1980, SAGE published Geert Hofstede's Culture's Consequences. It opens with a quote from Blaise Pascal: "There are truths on this side of the Pyrenees that are falsehoods on the other." The book became a classic--one of the most cited sources in the Social Science Citation Index--and subsequently appeared in a second edition in 2001. This new SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence picks up on themes explored in that book. Cultural competence refers to the set of attitudes, practices, and policies that enables a person or agency to work well with people from differing cultural groups. Other related terms include cultural sensitivity, transcultural skills, diversity competence, and multicultural expertise. What defines a culture? What barriers might block successful communication between individuals or agencies of differing cultures? How can those barriers be understood and navigated to enhance intercultural communication and understanding? These questions and more are explained within the pages of this new reference work.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
Call Number: Weldon Library 1st Floor Reference - In-Library Use Only GT2850.F666 2011 v.1 -4
Publication Date: 2011
This comprehensive reference work introduces food culture from more than 150 countries and cultures around the world-including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places. * Entries covering over 150 countries and cultures from around the world * More than 100 expert contributors * Vignettes * An index that facilitates cross-cultural comparison
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication
Publication Date: 2018
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication employs a broadly-based taxonomy of intercultural communication (ICC) that consists of six organizing themes. Those themes are the traditional ICC core theme--known as "intercultural communication"--and five associated themes recognized as "cross-cultural communication," "cultural communication," "intergroup communication," "intercultural training," and "critical intercultural communication." This encyclopedia addresses issues of ethnicity and race in intercultural communication--not as a separate theme, but as an integral part of each thematic area. It also provides entries outside the ICC's discipline of communication, such as cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology. This work features 256 articles written by 249 authors representing 19 different countries.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Publication Date: 2005
Offers comprehensive and accessible information about the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Addresses such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.
Europa World Plus
Provides detailed country surveys containing political, economic, statistical, and directory data for over 250 countries and territories.
Oxford Digital Reference Shelf
Search dictionaries and encyclopedias published by Oxford University Press