Western Libraries

Labour & Employment Law

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2014

Labour & Employment Law Databases

First Resort (Lancaster House)

First Resort™ contains articles that summarize and analyse key labour and employment law decisions. The articles are organized into twenty databases, each of which covers a different area of labour and employment law. Lancaster House is well-known for providing information on labour, and employment and human rights law and in serving the needs of employees, employers, professional organizations, unions, management and legal practitioners in Canada.

Titles found in First Resort:

  • Leading Cases on Labour Arbitration Online (Mort Mitchnick & Brian Etherington)
  • Canadian Labour and Employment Law Journal
  • Labour Arbitration Yearbook Online

LabourSource

Formerly Canada Law Book’s Labour Spectrum
LabourSource includes volumes of labour law decisions and commentary covering decades of court decisions. The product features:

  •     Canadian Labour Arbitration [Brown & Beatty],
  •     Labour Arbitration Cases (LAC),
  •     Canadian Labour Arbitration Summaries (CLAS)
  •     Canadian Labour Law (Adams)

Available online via WestlawNext Canada

EmploymentSource

Formerly Canada Law Book’s Employment Spectrum
EmploymentSource  combines expert commentary, case law and legislation. It also includes a Dismissal Notice Periods search which matches your search criteria with relevant notice period results and includes links to the full text decisions. The product includes:

  •     Canadian Employment Law (Stacey Reginald Ball)
  •     The Employment Bulletinkplace
  •     The Law of Dismissal in Canada, Third Edition (Howard A. Levitt)

Available online via WestlawNext Canada

Lexis Advance Quicklaw

Review basic Labour and Employment Law content by browsing Sources for the practice area or by drilling through the legal Topic. Look for caselaw digesting services, which may help you to break down your topic or for specialized secondary sources such as Halsbury’s Laws of Canada -  Employment (England).

Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and LexisNexis Canada. Western Libraries also subscribes to Nexis Uni (formally LexisNexis Academic) for non-law users (content may differ).

WestlawNext Canada

LawSource provides access to material useful for research in Labour and Employment law. The Canadian Abridgment Case Digests for Labour & Employment Law (LAB) are reproduced online, are fully searchable and link to the full-text decisions. The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest (Employment Law - Ontario and Western Provinces; Labour Law - Ontario and Western Provinces) is also reproduced electronically and can be browsed or searched. LawSource also includes the Carswell law reporters, Canadian Cases on Employment Law and Canadian Cases on Pensions and Benefits.

Access is restricted for use within Western Libraries locations (and affiliates). Law faculty, staff and students receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and Thomson Reuters.