Western Libraries

Spanish 2216G Exploring Hispanic Culture II

Research Resources for Hispanic Culture

Table of Contents:

Como aqua para chocolate
 

Research Process:

Step 1 - Find and develop your topic

Identify the key concepts and keywords for your question. Brainstorm and create a list of synonyms of the concepts. There are many resources that will help you better understand key concepts associated with varied topics, including Magic Realism, cuisine or food in Mexican culture, the Mexican Revolution.  Articles in subject encyclopedias will help you develop an understanding of the context for your research. Pay particular attention to relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

Step 2 - Determine what you already know

Incorporate your existing knowledge with what you have learned in class,  from the class readings to date and from the encyclopedias.  Lecture notes, textbooks and readings will also inform your efforts. You will have identified themes, concepts, people and events that may be important to your question. This process will help you to determine the best places to start your search.

Step 3 - Find background information

Read articles in subject encyclopedias to develop an understanding of the context for your research. Pay particular attention to relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia articles.

Step 4 - Find Scholarly Sources

The search box on the library's homepage is a good place to start looking for resources on your topic. Enter keywords that describe your topic  and use the filters on the left hand side to narrow down your results.

Note: If you are searching for a specific item using a title, an author's name, or a call number, you should use the library catalogue.

  • Use the Library Catalogue search to find Books
  • Use the list of databases below to find Articles

Research databases for Hispanic Studies:

Step 5 - Incorporate New Knowledge

As stated in the MLA handbook,  "“Sometimes research will confirm your ideas and opinions; sometimes it will challenge and modify them. But almost always it will help to shape your thinking.” 

Beginning with original thoughts, and being open to having these molded by new found knowledge in sources that you read is all part of the research process. 

Step 6 - Acknowledge your Sources

Though this is the last step, it is one of the most important steps of all. If an idea or example has shaped your thinking, you MUST give credit where credit is due by acknowledging your sources in a bibliography.  See below for more information on citing. 

Style Guides and Citing:

Western Libraries has created a quick guide to MLA Style

Purdue University has also produced a guide to citing sources in MLA Style.

Interlibrary Loans / RACER

RACER is an online Interlibrary Loan system used to search for material and place requests. To access RACER you must have an account. To create your account, you need to register. If you have already registered, simply login. Please keep in mind that your University ID number is used as your login and your password is created by you.

chat loading...