Western Libraries

United Kingdom Legal Research

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.

Databases & Websites

ICLR Online

The Incorporated Council of Law Reporting is a not for profit organisation that was established in 1865 as the authorised publisher of the official series of The Law Reports for the Superior and Appellate Courts of England and Wales.

The dedicated case law platform, ICLR Online, combines law reports with a powerful Citator + index cards to present all the relevant case information in one screen.

As well as the official Law Reports, ICLR publishes the Weekly Law Reports, the Industrial Cases Reports, the Business Law Reports, the Public and Third Sector Law Reports and the Consolidated Index to leading law reports.

Justis

Justis is an online library of UK, Irish, EU and international case law and legislation. Caselaw dates back to 1163 and legislation from 1235.

JustCite is the online legal research platform that helps you find leading authorities and establish the current status of the law. This is your place to start researching UK law and results will link to Justis and ICLR Online. Justcite also indexes case reports from the Canadian publisher, Maritime Law Book.

Lexis Advance Quicklaw

LNQ has United Kingdom folders [within the International/News & Companies collection]. Check with Law Library staff for the sign-on to the International collection. UK resources include caselaw, legislation and journals. The caselaw folder includes the All England Law Reports with a .pdf of the original. Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and LexisNexis Canada. Western Libraries also subscribes to LexisNexis Academic for non-law users (content may differ).

WestlawNext Canada

The United Kingdom library within WestlawNext includes caselaw, statutes and legislative services, materials by practice area and jurisdiction, and law reviews. The caselaw collection includes The English Reports, which record the law of England from 1220-1865. The library also includes publications from Sweet & Maxwell. Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and Thomson Reuters. Western Libraries also subscribes to a campus-wide version of WestlawNext for non-law users (access  is  restricted  for  use  within  Western  Libraries locations and  affiliates).

Lloyd’s Law Reports Online (Informa)

Lloyd's Law Reports, a comprehensive collection of maritime and commercial cases,  has been reporting on decisions since 1919. Cases are selected from foreign jurisdictions as well as from English Law. Access is via the library catalogue. Userid and password required.

Family Law Reports (Family Law Online)

The Family Law Reports, published by Jordan Publishing, contain verbatim reports of every important Family Division, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court and European courts case, as well as practice directions, covering the whole range of family law, public and private child law.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Early English Books Online (EEBO) is a major research collection providing images of over 100,000 imprints from 1475 to 1700. Publications in English and foreign languages printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, British America are included, plus English books printed in other countries from 1641-1700. Subjects range from popular culture, literature, philosophy, politics and science to religion. The database includes titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661), comprising almanacs, calendars, musical exercises, novels, prayer books, pamphlets, proclamations and other primary sources.

 

BAILII

The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) provides access to British and Irish primary legal materials.  It is hosted in the UK and Ireland by the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, London and the Law Faculty, University College Cork.

The databases on BAILII are derived from a number of sources such as indirect feeds by relevant courts, government departments and other organisations. BAILII makes its website available on a subscription-free basis for the benefit of the public, including pro bono organisations, neighbourhood law centres, students and users in developing countries.

Her Majesty's Stationery Office (H.M.S.O.): Publications of Acts

-Public General Acts as originally passed by the UK Parliament
-New Local Acts as originally passed by the UK Parliament
-Full text of Bills currently before the UK Parliament (via the Uk Parliament Web Site)

Parliamentary website: The Official Report of Debates (Hansard)

Parliamentary website: The Weekly Information Bulletin of the House of Commons
http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm/cmwib.htm
-tracing amendments and bill numbers
-status of bills

Proceedings of the Old Bailey

Contains 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.