Your literature review will help you situate your research project in existing scholarship. The complexity of a literature review can make it one of the more challenging aspects of writing about your project. The role of the literature review is to:
- Summarize existing literature
- Critically evaluate the literature
- Show relationships and intersections in existing literature, and
- Identify scarcity in scholarship and where your research fills a gap
Consult reference material for background information to help you with key concepts and theories that you consider in your literature review.
Oxford Art Online/ The Grove Dictionary of Art by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN N31.D5 1996
Publication Date: 1996 - ongoing
A comprehensive encyclopedia for the visual arts covering painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, new media as well as the decorative arts. Bibliographies are linked to check Western Libraries' holdings.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN BH56.E53 1998
Publication Date: 1998
This work surveys critical thought on art, culture, and society--from classical philosophy to contemporary critical theory. Bibliographies are linked to check Western Libraries' holdings.
Sources of information
Consult all of the following to identify scholarship and sources relevant to your research project.
Dissertations & Theses This database is comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Included are Western theses and dissertations.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Search for more published material available at other research libraries