Western Libraries

VAS 1025 Advanced Visual Art Foundations

Advanced Visual Art Foundations

Resources

  • Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
    Search this database to find articles published in scholarly journals and magazines that specialize in art history and fine arts.
  • The following two databases provide access to Canadian publications:
  • Library Catalogue
    Find books on your topic using the Library Catalogue Search.

Guides to Citing Sources

Background Information

Oxford Art Online  
This reference resource is devoted to art and is another great place to begin learning more about a topic specifically related to the world of art and artists.

For background information about Canadian artists, you may wish to consult the following print dictionaries and encyclopedias located in the reference collection at The D. B. Weldon Library:

Contemporary Canadian Artists  / Roger Matuz (Ed.)
DBW reference NO LOAN     N6548.C66 1997 
Also available ONLINE.

A Dictionary of Canadian Artists / Colin S. MacDonald
 DBW reference NO LOAN     N6548.M26 1997

A to Z of Canadian Art, Artists & Art Terms / Blake McKendry.
DBW reference NO LOAN     N6540.M275 1997

Art Image Databases

The following database offers high-resolution images and include information about the creator, medium, size, current location and copyright.

Artstor

The Artstor Digital Library provides more than one million high resolution images with tools for teaching and research. Its collections comprise the Visual Resource Centre's Vision Database, and contributions from  museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world (read the full list here: http://www.artstor.org/collections).   

Interlibrary Loans - RACER

RACER is an online Interlibrary Loan system used to search for material and place requests not available locally. To access RACER you must have an account. To create your account, you need to register. If you have already registered, simply login. Remember that your University ID number is used as your login and your password is created by you.

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian Chat Service

Getting started

Quick video guides to research at Western Libraries