Key Places to Start
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Over 1800 entries, on all aspects of sociology. Includes definitions and explanations of key concepts; introductions to sociological theories and research; extensive bibliographies; and citations are provided. The online edition includes updates to 2017.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields
The encyclopedia of crime and punishment
An up-to-date and comprehensive resource on crime and punishment including nearly 300 entries. Topics in the areas of crime types, corrections, policing, law and justice, research methods, criminological theory, correlates of crime, organizations and institutions (U.S.), victimology, and special populations.
Annual Review of Sociology
Comprehensive reviews of the most significant primary research literature for Sociology. Written by leading scientists and are one of the most highly cited in scientific literature.
Oxford Reference Online
Multi-part database of online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version off the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by
Publication Date: 2008-08-21
Presents current and complete information as well as ready-to-use techniques, facts, and examples from the field of qualitative research in a very accessible style. The entries cover every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, the role of theory in qualitative research, and much more--all without overwhelming the informed reader.
Encyclopedia of Social History by
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
A reference surveying the major concerns, findings, and terms of social history. The coverage includes major categories within social history (family, demographic transition, multiculturalism, industrialization, nationalism); major aspects of life for which social history has provided a crucial per
Publication Date: 2014-05-12
Is denying a patient medical care ever justified? Should patents on living organisms be permitted? When does "consciousness" begin in human being? Are there circumstances under which people should be sterilized? Questions such as these and others are the basis of assignments, debate topics, and life and death decisions people face everyday. They are aspects of a broad and dynamic field called Bioethics. Bioethics is the where ethics--right and wrong--intersect with biology, medicine, biotechnology, politics, law, religion and philosophy. It encompasses issues of profound importance to students, faculty and laypersons. Yet balanced, objective information--free from business, political or religious agendas--is hard to come by. The encyclopedia used a basic conceptual framework involving 3 clear steps to explore, understand, and address key issues and questions; these are * Identifying applicable moral principles, ideals, or standards; * Assessing current practice or behavior in light of principles; * And suggesting policies or procedures to bring practice into line with principles. Revised articles will explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade.
Other Online Encyclopedias
Dictionaries and Handbooks (electronic)
A Dictionary of Sociology by
Publication Date: 2009-02-15
Wide-ranging and authoritative entries compiled by a team of experts. Provides widespread coverage of all aspects of sociology and related disciplines.
Handbook of LGBT Communities, Crime, and Justice by
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
Contemporary scholars have begun to explore non-normative sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression in a growing victimization literature, but very little research is focused on LGBTQ communities' patterns of offending (beyond sex work) and their experiences with police, the courts, and correctional institutions. This Handbook, the first of its kind in Criminology and Criminal Justice, will break new ground by presenting a thorough treatment of all of these under-explored issues in one interdisciplinary volume that features current empirical work
Routledge Handbook of Social and Cultural Theory by
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
If today students of social theory read Jurgen Habermas, Michel Foucault and Anthony Giddens, then proper regard to the question of culture means that they should also read Raymond Williams, Stuart Hall and Slavoj Zizek. The "Routledge Handbook of Social and Cultural Theory" offers a concise, comprehensive overview of the convergences and divergences of social and cultural theory, and in so doing offers a novel agenda for social and cultural research in the twenty-first century.
Dictionaries and Handbooks (Print)
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by
Call Number: HM425.C36 2006 DBW Reference
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
This volume provides an authoritative overview of the classical and the contemporary fields of sociology. It features over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, it offers a global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches.
21st Century Sociology by
Call Number: HM585.A13 2007 DBW Reference
Publication Date: 2007
Provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. The two volumes of this Reference Handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry.
Fifty Key Sociologists by
Call Number: HM445.F545 2007 DBW Reference
Covering the life, work, ideas and impact of some of the most significant thinkers in sociology, this text concentrates on figures in the field writing principally in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by
Call Number: GV706.5.R88 2014 DBWSTK
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
The Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality brings together important new work from 68 leading international scholars that, collectively, demonstrates the intrinsic interconnectedness of sport, gender and sexuality.