Online guides [created by Western Libraries]
Purdue Owl provides information about the American Sociological Association (ASA) style including manuscript formatting, in-text citations, formatting the reference page, and accepted manuscript writing style. The bibliographical format described is from the American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 5th edition.
Several citation management systems are also available for all Western students, staff, and faculty; this web-based software can help you organize and format your citations.
Writing in the Social Sciences
The Writing Support Centre provides services to help you realize your writing potential. Services they offer include:
- Individual one-on-one counseling
- In-house Writing in the Disciplines seminars and workshops
- Online help and resources
- Transitioning to university writing clinics
- Drop-In counselling services at Weldon Library
- Outreach presentations for faculty
- GradWRITE: a series of workshops and annual conference tailored for grads
- GradLAB: a resource lounge for grads
Understanding the Essay by
Call Number: PE1417.U54 2012 DBWSTK
Publication Date: 2012-07-25
This is a book on how to read the essay, one that demonstrates how reading is inextricably tied to the art of writing. It aims to treat the essay with the close attention that has been given to other literary genres, and in doing so it suggests the beauty and depth of the form as a whole. At once personal appreciations and acute critical assessments, the pieces collected here broaden our perspective on the essay as a major literary art, tracing its history from William Hazlitt to Joan Didion.
Good Essay Writing by
Publication Date: 2011-05-09
This book sets out proven approaches and techniques which can help everyone write good essays. Extensively revised and updated in this fourth edition, Good Essay Writing now includes new material such as: A chapter on essay planning, focusing on literature searching (using online materials), note-taking and formulating an argument A comparison of essay writing to exam writing The use of academic language, vocabulary and register, and its 'accuracy and appropriateness' more exemplar material used throughout the chapters The authors focus on answering key questions students face when preparing essays - What do tutors look for when marking my essay? What kind of skills do I need as I progress through my course? How can I avoid inadvertent plagiarism? What are the protocols for referencing? Encapsulated in easy to digest summaries, this new edition shows you how to approach different types of essay questions, addresses common worries, and provides extensive use of worked examples including complete essays which are fully analyzed and discussed. Each chapter also includes suggested further reading and an extensive glossary. Good Essay Writing is highly recommended for anyone studying social sciences who wants to brush up on their essay writing skills and achieve excellent grades.
Making Sense by
Publication Date: 2012-04-26
Now in its seventh edition, the original volume of the bestselling Making Sense series is an indispensable research and writing guide for students in any discipline. Maintaining the signature straightforward style of the series, this updated edition outlines the general principles of style, grammar, and usage while covering such topics as how to conduct academic research, how to write essays, and how to properly document sources. Concise and accessible, with new information on technology-based research and group presentations, this latest edition continues to be an invaluable resource for students throughout their academic careers and beyond.
They Say / I Say by
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
They Say / I Say demystifies academic writing by identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say"). The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing. This version includes readings that demonstrate those moves--and provide stimulating conversations for them to enter. The Second Edition includes an anthology of 44 readings that will provoke students to think--and write--about five important issues, including two new ones: Is Higher Education Worth the Price? and Why Does It Matter Who Wins the Big Game?
Report Writing for Criminal Justice Professionals by
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
The criminal justice process is dependent on accurate documentation. This title provides practical guidance - with specific writing samples and guidelines - for providing strong reports. It covers what officers need to learn - from basic English grammar to the difficult but often-ignored problem of creating documentation that can hold up in court.