Language dictionaries and grammar guides
Britanncia Enciclopædia Moderna includes a Spanish-language dictionary, Merriam‑Webster's Spanish‑English Dictionary, an atlas and timelines, and over 50,000 articles in Spanish.
Research resources for literary and cultural studies
Cambridge Histories Online
This online reference set covers Latin American History, histories of Literary Theory & Criticism, and the following resources focussed on Spanish Literary History:
Dictionary of Literary Biography : Complete Online
Features comprehensive literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics. Articles include a bibliography of the writer’s known works at the beginning of the chapter and end with a bibliography of key secondary literature.
The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel by
Call Number: PQ6139.C36 2003
Publication Date: 2003
The Cambridge Companion to the Spanish Novel presents the development of the modern Spanish novel from 1600 to the present.
The Cambridge Companion to the Latin American Novel by
Call Number: PQ7082.N7C272 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-26
This Companion offers a broad overview of the novel's history and analyses in depth several representative works by, for example, Gabriel García Márquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende and Mario Vargas Llosa. The Companion includes comprehensive bibliography and chronology.
Literature Criticism Online
A database of ten encyclopedic sets of literary criticism (Contents include: Contemporary literary criticism -- Twentieth-century literary criticism -- Nineteenth-century literature criticism -- Shakespearean criticism -- Literature criticism from 1400 to 1800 -- Classical and medieval literature criticism -- Poetry criticism -- Short story criticism -- Drama criticism -- Children's literature review).
The Cambridge Companion to Modern Spanish Culture by
Publication Date: 1999-02-25
This introduction to the politics, literature and culture of modern Spain, traces its development from its beginnings after the Revolution of 1868 to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN DP233.5.E63 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Covers recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country, from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN PQ7081.A1E5627 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Includes entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements from the beginning of the 20th century to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN F1406.E53 2008 Vol 1-6
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Print. Six volume set covers politics, demographics, history and the arts of Latin America. Articles include bibliographies.
Medieval Iberia by
Call Number: DP99.M45 2003 - Weldon Library 1st Floor Reference - In-Library Use only
Publication Date: 2003
The Encyclopedia covers the Hispanic kingdoms from c 400 to c 1500 and is interdisciplinary in scope with an emphasis on literature, language, history, arts, folklore, religion and science. It also provides in-depth discussions of the contributions of Muslim and Jewish cultures, and offers useful insights into their interactions with Catholic Spain
The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature by
Call Number: PQ6006.W37 and DBW reference NO LOAN PQ6006.W37
Publication Date: 1978
Print. A reference to Spanish literature and related subjects with coverage from Roman times to the mid-1970s.