Copyright @ Western
This webportal provides access to resources and services to assist in clarifying the privileges and obligations for the Western community when using the copyright-protected material of others in the course of research, teaching and learning.
Online Primary Sources
Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Latin American Women Writers
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement.
Latino Literature (LALI) contains approximately 450 plays and over 100,000 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present. Also included are audio files of selected poems and plays.
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro
Contains searchable full text of approximately 900 Spanish dramatic works from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.
Microform Primary sources
Contents pt. 1. Mexican imprints, 1554-1750 (reels 1-30) -- pt. 2. Mexican imprints, 1750-1800 (reels 31-64) -- pt. 3. Spanish imprints, 1530-1646 (reels 65-99) -- pt. 4. Spanish imprints, 1647-1692 (reels 100-130) -- pt. 5. Spanish imprints, 1692-1788 (reels 131-176 -- pt. 6. Guatemalan imprints, 1663-1800 (reels 177-186) -- pt. 7. Imprints from Peru, and Los Angeles with additional titles from Mexico, Spain, and other regions (reels 187-248)
A guide to the microfilm collection is available at DBW reference NO LOAN F1410.L385 ser.6 guide.
- Conquistadors : the struggle for colonial power in Latin America [microfilm]
This collection features expedition records, original letters and maps of exploration and colonization, and "diaries of discoveries" from South America, from narratives of Columbus' first voyage (at Sloane Ms 1709) to the end of Colonial Spanish rule. The set covers European exploitation, evangelization, and botanical and geographical exploration in South America from Texas to Tierra del Fuego, and features maps, scrolls, descriptions of voyages by sea and river, terrain, flora and fauna, settlement posts, plantations and mines, missionary activities, and "diaries of discoveries". Territories represented include Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Ecuador, Florida, Guatemala, Guiana, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Patagonia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Texas, Uruguay, Venezuela and the West Indies.
Languages include Spanish, English, Portuguese, French and Italian. Also includes Bible translations in Quechua and other native languages and indigenous dramas and poems.
A guide to the microfolm collection is available in print at DBW reference NO LOAN E123.C7383 Guide, and through the Center for Research Libraries online