Western Libraries

Canada - Census

Chronological List of Census Publications

The three provinces of Canada (Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick) conducted a census in 1851 establishing the decennial (every 10 year) enumeration pattern. In 1956 the first "mini census" established an additional quinquennial (every 5 year) pattern.

Census

Index(es)

Pre-1851
  • Volume 1 of the 1931 census, DBW govt HA741.5.1931 98-c31F01, includes a guide to early census information
  • See "Chronological summary of population growth ...1605-1931" p.133-153 in above volume
  • See "Tabular statement of census and pre-censal records of Canada, prior to 1931" p.1473-1511, in above volume

1851/1852
  • This census has no index
  • Each section is divided into Lower Canada (Quebec) and Upper Canada (Ontario)
  • Contains, in order: Vital Statistics, Church Membership, Immigration, Agriculture, Manufactures, Number of Churches, Schools, Houses, Public Buildings
  • "Enumerator's Instructions for the Census of Canada 1852 and 1861"  Histoire Sociale/Social History v. VII Nov, 1974 p. 355-365.
  • Census Day: January 12, 1852

1860/1861

1870/1871
  • Each volume has a table of contents at the start of the volume
  • Each volume has a detailed subject index at the end of the volume
  • Volume 4 has a place name index on p. 416
  • Census Day: April 2,

1881
  • Each volume has a table of contents at the start of the volume
  • Each volume has a detailed subject index at the end of the volume
  • Census Day: April 4, 1881

1891
  • Each volume has a table of contents at the start of the volume
  • Each volume has a detailed subject index at the end of the volume
  • Census Day: April 5, 1891

1901
  • Best approach is through the subject index at the back of each volume
  • Place names have a separate index at the back of Volumes l and 2, and are included in the general index in Volume 3 under the headings "Towns and villages" and "Cities and towns"
  • Description of schedules and instructions to enumerators can be found in Census of Canada, 1901 - Population DBW govt census HA 741.5 1901 98-01F01, p. vii-xxi
  • Census Day: March 31, 1901

1911
  • Each volume has a table of contents at the start of the volume.
  • Volume 3 has a subject index on p. 419; it covers "Manufactures" and includes place names under the headings "Census districts", "Cities, towns and villages"
  • Volume 1 has a place name index on p. 558.
  • Census Day: June 1, 1911

1921
  • Each volume has a table of contents at the start of the volume
  • Volume 1 has a place name index on pp. 777-859
  • This census does not include statistics on the Fur Trade, Forestry, Fisheries, Minerals, Manufactures, Trade and Commerce. Statistics on these subjects for this time period can be found in the1921 edition of the Canada Year Book  DBW ref quick and govt HA 748.9.A2 11-C202
  • A copy of the census questionnaire can be found in Census of Canada, 1921 - Population... DBW govt census HA 741.5 1921 98-C21F01, p.xl+
  • Census Day: June 1, 1921

1931
  • There is a subject index to all of the 1931 census on p. 1512 of Volume 1
  • An index to the entire set of volumes is on the page facing the title page at the beginning of each volume
  • Each volume has its own table of contents at the start of the volume
  • A copy of the census questionnaire can be found in Census of Canada, 1931 - Summary DBW govt census HA 741.5 1931 98-C31F01, p.1445+
  • Census Day: June 1, 1931

1941
  • Volume 1 contains a table of contents for all 1941 volumes on p. 987
  • Each volume also contains its own table of contents
  • London Housing Atlas DBW govt census HA 741.5 1941 98-M19
  • A copy of the census questionnaire can be found in Census of Canada, 1941 - General Review... DBW govt census HA 741.5 1941 98-C41F01, p.930+
  • Census Day: June 11, 1941

1951
  • Index to the arrangement of volumes faces the title page of each volume
  • Each volume has its own table of contents plus an introduction which defines the census terms used in the volume.
  • London is not listed as a separate census tract.
  • A copy of the census questionnaire can be found in Census of Canada, 1951 - General Review... DBW govt census HA 741.5 1951 98-C51F10, p.C-4+
  • Census Day: May 31, 1951

1956
  • Population volume (vol.1) has detailed table of contents at front of that volume; this listing does not include the other volumes: Analytical Reports, Census Tracts and Agriculture
  • London census tracts can be found in Census of Canada, 1956 - Population... DBW govt census HA 741.5 1956 95-C509
  • A copy of the census questionnaire can be found in Census of Canada, 1956 - Analytical Report.. DBW govt census HA 741.5 1956 99-C510, p.A-4+

1961

1966

1971

1976

1981

1986

1991

1996
  • Statistics at national and provincial levels are on CD-ROM Nation Series DBW govt census HA 741.5 1996 93-F0020
  • Statistics for sub-provincial areas (counties, townships, cities, etc.) in "Profiles" series in paper format at DBW govt census HA 741.5 1996 95-C182 to HA 741.5 1996 95-C193 and on CD-ROM; NOTE: CD-ROM and paper copies include the same geographic areas but additional details on variables is included on CD-ROM
  • 1996 Census Catalogue: Final Edition Reference DBW govt census HA 741.5 1996 92-C350y
  • 1996 Census Dictionary: Final Edition Reference DBW govt census HA 741.5 1996 92-C351B
  • London census tracts can be found in the volume Profile of Census Tracts London... DBW govt census HA 741.5 1996 95-C204
  • A copy of the census questionnaire can be found in the back pocket of 1996 Census Handbook DBW govt census HA 741.5 1996 92-C352
  • Census Day: May 14