Western Libraries

Linguistics

Guide to Linguistics research

BrowZine™ is available at Western Libraries

BrowZine is a browsable newsstand that provides access to journals in a format optimized for your tablet. Easily discover, read, and monitor the key journals in your field.

Search these specialized databases to find journal articles

 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA is the main source for research in all areas of linguistics.  The database of citations and abstracts of journal articles covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.  Various fields of linguistics are also covered including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Web of Science
Provides access to three multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed so that you can search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Each Web of Science database includes the article's cited reference list (often called its bibliography). This unique feature allows searching for articles that cite a known author or work.

Google Scholar
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research." (from publisher)

ERIC Plus Text
ERIC Plus Text provides access to over 250 education-related journals, and covers all aspects linguistics in education, including language acquisition and bilingualism.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO covers all aspects of psychology, including psycholinguistics and neurolinguistics.

Érudit
A French language database of online journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Natural Sciences, originating primarily in Quebec.

CAIRN E-Journal Collection
Collection of French language periodicals in the social sciences and humanities disciplines.

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas)
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a searchable resource providing access to full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.

MLA International Bibliography
MLA includes bibliographic material on the history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, syntax and translation.

 

Language and Linguistics Compass
"Unique in its range, Language and Linguistics Compass is an online-only journal publishing original, peer-reviewed surveys of current research from across the entire discipline. Language and Linguistics Compass publishes state-of-the-art reviews, supported by a comprehensive bibliography and accessible to an international readership. Language and Linguistics Compass is aimed at senior undergraduates, postgraduates and academics, and will provide a unique reference tool for researching essays, preparing lectures, writing a research proposal, or just keeping up with new developments in a specific area of interest."