General Reference Sources
"The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world."
Oxford Reference Online
"Multi-part database of online versions of Oxford University Press texts. Each topical division contains the searchable version off the latest edition of published dictionaries and encyclopedias. Additionally, information about Oxford University Press is provided. "
The Quotable Women: the first 5,000 years by
The Quotable Woman, Revised Edition gathers nearly 20,000 great quotations from more than 5,000 women throughout history, beginning with Eve and continuing to the present day. Thoroughly revised and updated, this book is a treasure trove of both familiar and unexpected quotations on nearly every subject imaginable, including friendship, love, politics, religion, education, the arts, and women's role in society. Contributors are presented in chronological order by the year of their birth, then alphabetically within each year. Indexes allow readers to find quotations by subject and contributors by name, occupation/profession, and nationality/ethnicity.
Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality by
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
The Routledge Handbook of Sport, Gender and Sexuality brings together important new work from 68 leading international scholars that, collectively, demonstrates the intrinsic interconnectedness of sport, gender and sexuality.
Handbook of Research on Gender and Leadership by
Publication Date: 2017-05-26
The Handbook of Research on Gender and Leadership comprises the latest research from the world’s foremost scholars on women and leadership, exposing problems and offering both theoretical and practical solutions on how to best strengthen the impact of women around the world.
The Palgrave Handbook of Gender and Development by
Publication Date: 2016-04-29
With original and engaging contributions, this Handbook confirms feminist scholarship in development studies as a vibrant research field. It reveals the diverse ways that feminist theory and practice inform and shape gender analysis and development policies, bridging generations of feminists from different institutions, disciplines and regions.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Publication Date: 1997-12-02
Presents brief biographical sketches which provide vital statistics as well as information on the importance of the person listed.
The Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by
Publication Date: 2016-06-02
This far-reaching and contemporary new Encyclopedia examines and explores the lives and experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer (LGBTQ) individuals, focusing on the contexts and forces that shape their lives.
glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer Culture
Scholars, academic researchers, and other experts have created a free encyclopedia of information about gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer (glbtq) culture. The resource contains more than one million words in over 900 entries about the arts and literature. Illustrations and historical photographs also are included.
NOTE: Archived as of August 1st, 2015
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women by
Publication Date: 2013-10-16
Scholarship on Islam and women has expanded exponentially over the past twenty years, with increasing specialization within the field, as well as cross-pollination between other fields and disciplines. With this surge in interest there is a genuine need for a systematic reference work to provide balanced comprehensive coverage of the field.The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women is designed to meet this need by providing clear, current, comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of women and Islam. It features several hundred in-depth articles written by leading experts and is intended as a single source for accurate overview articles covering all aspects of this flourishing area of research.