British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries, 1500-1950
Spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.
Defining Gender, 1450-1910
A collection of over 50,000 images from original documents relating to Gender Studies. The source documents are drawn from the holdings of libraries and archives throughout the world, including many from the Bodleian Library in Oxford, England. By using images of the texts rather than transcriptions, the database permits students studying the past to connect with greater immediacy.
Early Encounters in North America
Features over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters from 1482 authors.
International Women's Periodicals/ 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues
Historical women’s periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as they push for women’s rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England. Some of the titles in this collection were conceived and published by men, for women; others, conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; others were conceived and published by women, for women. The strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for women’s periodicals. Thus a variety of viewpoints are here presented for study.
Gerritsen collection of women's history
Still a standard and valuable reference work and handbook on the feminist movement from its earliest stages until the end of the 19th century. Volume I relates the history of the movement in Germany and a number of other countries, volume II discusses the German feminist movement and its role in social actions, volume III, the state of education for women in Germany and other countries, volume IV, a discussion of the German working woman, and volume V, practical information about employment and professions. Many bibliographical references.
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection documents many decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin’s work for and leadership of, the LGBT movement and the women’s rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with the ACLU, the San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, the Commission on Crime Control and Violence Protection, the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, and the San Francisco Human Rights Commission. Lyon and Martin were also central to the struggle that pushed the National Organization for Women to an understanding of the centrality of the freedom to sexual expression.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Resources organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Annual additions of 5,000 pages of documents, ensures continued access to a developing collection of the study of U.S. Women's history.
Women Organizing Transnationally: The Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
The records include extensive official correspondence as well as hundreds of letters to and from correspondents throughout the world documenting the work of the organization. In addition there are official records; minutes; complete files of multi- lingual publications entitled "Community Action Series" and "Meeting Community Needs;" miscellaneous publications; conferences and workshop material; oral history transcripts, 1988-89, with related biographical material and writings by individuals; and card files on individual participants, filed by country. The country files also contain published materials pertaining to the status and problems of the world’s women.