Western Libraries

Women's Studies and Feminist Research

Websites

 

Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women

The Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women(CRIAW) is a research institute providing tools "to facilitate organizations taking action to advance social justice and equality for all women."

Feminism and Women's Studies

This web site provides links to the best web resources for Women's Studies. It includes sources on activism, women's health and the history of women. It also provides information about some academic programs in Women's Studies.

Gender - Statitistical Indicators & Databases

The Gender Data Portal is the World Bank Group’s comprehensive source for the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life and decision-making, and agency.

Female Nobel Prize Laureates

In 1903, only two years after the Nobel Foundation was established, a Nobel Prize was awarded to a woman, Marie Curie, for the first time. Site lists women award the Nobel Prize.

Discovering American Women's History Online

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letter, diaries, artifacts, etcl) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s. Learn more about the database (e.g. scope, awards, etc).

Women Watch

Site created and maintained by the United Nations. Content covers everything from education and media to poverty and violence. Statistical information is also provided.

National Clearinghouse on Family Violence 
The National Clearinghouse on Family Violence (NCFV) is a one-stop source for information on violence and abuse within the family. It operates on behalf of the 15 partner departments, agencies and Crown corporations of the federal Family Violence Initiative. The NCFV collects, develops and disseminates resources on prevention, protection and treatment. By increasing awareness, the NCFV encourages Canadian communities to become involved in reducing the occurrence of family violence.

Global Health Facts
This site provides data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators. The data are displayed in tables, charts, and colour-coded maps and can be downloaded for custom analysis.

Canadian Council on Social Development, social development by design