Encyclopedias, dictionaries and other research resources for Theatre Studies
The Oxford Companion to Canadian Theatre by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN PN2301.O93 1989
Publication Date: 1989
North American Theater Online
Provides detailed reference information on all aspects of the Canadian and American theatre. The database will grow to include entries for every author, play, theatre, major production, and production company from the 1600s to the present.
Cambridge Histories Online -- Theatre Studies and Performing Arts
Included in this series are Cambridge History of American Theatre and Cambridge History of British Theatre.
A Cultural History of Theatre by
Call Number: Weldon Library 4th Floor - PN2101.C85 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Print. A Cultural History of Theatre presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. The set of six volumes covers a span of 2,500 years: 1. A Cultural History of Theatre in Antiquity (500 BCE-1000CE) 2. A Cultural History of Theatre in the Middle Ages (1000-1400) 3. A Cultural History of Theatre in the Early Modern Age (1400-1650) 4. A Cultural History of Theatre in the Age of Enlightenment (1650-1800) 5. A Cultural History of Theatre in the Age of Empire (1800-1920) 6. A Cultural History of Theatre in the Modern Age (1920-2000+) Each volume discusses the same themes in its chapters: 1. Institutional Frameworks 2. Social Functions3. Sexuality and Gender 4. The Environment of Theatre5. Circulation6. Interpretations 7. Communities of Production 8. Repertoire and Genres 9. Technologies of Performance10. Knowledge Transmission: Media and Memory
Encyclopedia of Theatre Dance in Canada by
Call Number: DBW stack GV1625.E533 1997
Publication Date: 2000
The ETDC/EDTC is the most comprehensive Canadian dance reference book and includes over 200 entries on artists, teachers, and companies, a list of music for dance, and over 60 entries on choreographic works. It is a must-have for academics, journalists, and educators.
Historical Dictionary of American Theater by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN PN2266.3.F57 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Covering the fifty-year period from 1880 to 1929. From traditional forms of theater to futurism, symbolism, surrealism, and expressionism.
Historical Dictionary of Contemporary American Theater, 1930-2010 by
Call Number: DBW reference NO LOAN PN2266.3.F575 2011
Publication Date: 2011
2 Volume set covers American theatre of the past 85 years.