Western Libraries

Theatre Studies

Finding primary sources

Copyright @ Western

This webportal provides access to resources and services to assist in clarifying the privileges and obligations for the Western community when using the copyright-protected material of others in the course of  research, teaching and learning.

Streaming Videos

Digital theatre plus
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of current, leading British theatre productions.

Drama Online

The resource includes films, plays, tools, audio plays, and streaming media.   The Playwrights Canada Press collection has over 170 plays from established and emerging Canadian playwrights includes plays from notable and award-winning authors such as Daniel MacIvor, Hannah Moscovitch, Colleen Murphy, Yvette Nolan, Donna-Michelle St. Bernard, Jordan Tannahill, and Judith Thompson. Highlighted titles include Lion in the Streets, East of Berlin, The Monument, White Biting Dog, Bone Cage, and Almighty Voice and His Wife. 

Kanopy Streaming - Performing Arts

  • Streaming motion pictures and documentaries

Primary sources - full text

Alexander Street Press
This database provides full text of plays in the following collections:

Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro

En Español. Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro database contains significant dramatic works of 16th and 17th century Spain. with more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín Moreto etc.

Related resources

Met Opera on Demand

  • More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.

Medici TV

  • Medici.tv specializes in high definition video of classical music, available on the internet, mobile, tablets and connected tvs. Over 1,400 programs including concerts, operas, ballets, documentaries, master-classes, educational films and artist profiles are available.