Western Libraries

Sociology 2241E - Men and Women in Society: Gender Issues in Sociology

Finding Articles

This page will show you how to navigate the Sociological Abstracts database, a fantastic resource to use for your research.  Additional databases are listed at the bottom of the page.

Sociological Abstracts

The Sociological Abstracts database has a thesaurus to help you find the most relevant results.  To access the thesaurus, click "Thesaurus" or change the search field to "Subject heading (all)", then click "Look Up Subjects."

When searching the thesaurus, search your terms individually.  If you search something too specific, you will not find as many terms.  For example, search "discrimination" instead of "employment discrimination", as there may be other types of discrimination that could be relevant to this search.

Once you have selected the search term(s) you want to use, click "Add to search."  Then, continue to add your other search ideas in the other search boxes.  Limit the search field to "Abstract" to find more relevant results.  Tick the "Peer-reviewed" button under the search boxes to limit your results to scholarly literature.

Review the titles in your search results to see if they appear to be relevant.  You may need to adjust your search fields if you are not satisfied with the results.  

Click interesting titles to read the abstract, see the subject terms that the article has been tagged with (these terms may be useful in your search!), and view other details.  Click "Get it @ Western" to read the full article.

More Databases

For a list of more databases, visit the ARTICLES tab of the Sociology Research Guide.

Contact

Profile Photo
Marg Sloan
Contact:
Allyn & Betty Taylor Library
The University of Western Ontario
London, Ontario, Canada
N6A 5B7
519 661-2111 x84801
Website

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian Chat Service