Tracking a line of research
Citation databases allow you to track a line of research by looking forwards and backwards through time. It is possible to see what works have been cited in a particular paper, but also what other papers are citing the work that you are interested in.
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive.
What is the difference?
You might be wondering which database is the best to use. It's always a good idea to check more than one or two sources to compare results. If you want to know the specific differences between the databases, you can read about them at the HLWiki site here.
If you aren't able to find articles and books from the Citation Databases above, you can also look for a researcher's works in the Psychology-focused database:
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
For even more Psychology resources, be sure to look at the Psychology Research Guide.