Western Libraries

History 1807 - The History of Business

Selected Digital Primary Sources

Primary sources are documents or physical objects written or created during the time under study. Such sources were present during an experience or time period, and offer an inside view of a particular event. 

Types of primary sources include: original documents (e.g. diaries, speeches, manuscripts, letters, memoirs, interviews, news film footage, autobiographies, official records); creative works (e.g. poetry, drama, novels, music, art); and relics or artifacts (e.g. pottery, furniture, clothing, buildings).

Selected Newspaper Primary Sources

All historical newspapers listed below are available online, and include full text, full image content of the original newspapers.

Canada

Globe & Mail:  Canada's Heritage from 1844 - offers breadth and depth of the most extensive historic newspaper in Canada.  Includes every news story, photograph, map, advertisement, classified ad, political cartoon, birth and death notice.  Covers 1844 to 2012.

Winnipeg Free Press Archive - covers 1874 to 2015.

United Kingdom

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - since 1791, the world's major events have been documented in the pages of the Guardian and the Observer.  The newspapers can be searched simultaneously or separately:

  • The Guardian, 1821 to 2003
  • The Observer, 1791 to 2003

Times Digital Archive - offers in-depth, award-winning, objective coverage of world events since its creation in 1785 to 1985.  Is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.

United States

19th Century U.S. Newspapers - provides access to a range of urban and rural regions throughout the United States.  Encompasses the entire 19th century, with emphasis on topics such as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and Antebellum-era life. 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - definitive digital archive for significant American newspapers dating back to the 18th century, notably: ​

  • Chicago Tribune, 1849 to 1992
  • Los Angeles Times, 1881 to 1992
  • New York Times, 1851 to 2012
  • Wall Street Journal, 1889 to 1998

Worldwide

Paper of Record - includes selective historical content dating from 1752 to 2004 for the United Kingdom, the United States, Australlia, the Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico.