Your professor has provided you with a popular journal article to critique. As discussed in the library instruction session, a best first step after your initial reading is to reread your article making notations of where you may disagree with the author or where supporting information is needed. Use the handout distributed in class to assist with this task.
Your assignment asks that you find scholarly journal articles to support or refute information presented in the popular journal article. The video below provides valuable tips for reading a scholarly journal article.
Finding information to support or refute information presented in article
Your article critique will involve finding information to support or refute the author's perspective. The assignment asks that you reference academic research articles. Use the search form above to develop an effective search string.
When searching journal databases begin with a keyword search and look at on topic articles to uncover other possible search terms.
Databases that index Human Resources journal titles include:
This database is a great place to find articles about business, economics and politics. Note that both scholarly and popular sources are included. Use the limiting features to narrow down your search.
Business Source Complete
This database provides a wealth of scholarly sources for business research. Some articles are indexed only while many others are available in full-text. Also available are SWOT analyses, market research and industry analyses.
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.