Western Libraries

ENGL 2091/WS2211 - Girls on Fire: Constructions of Girlhood in Young Adult Dystopian Fiction

Articles

  •  

    "The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1923 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers."

     
  •  

    An ever-growing database of more than355,000 works dated 600AD to the present (English poetry from 600 AD to present, American poetry from 1603 to present, English and American drama 1280 to 1915, English prose 1500 to 1900, and more), Literature Online includes biographies, bibliographies (such as the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature).  The database is also cross-searchable with the MLA International Bibliography.  

     
  •  

    Provides access to full-text, full-image, scholarly literature. The growing database contains the archives of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines. JSTOR offers the scanned image of each journal page as it was originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Coverage for each journal starts with the very first issue, many of which date from the 1800's.

     
  •  
    Published monthly, the Canadian Periodical Index (CPI.Q) provides access to over 400 Canadian journals (both English- and French-language) with coverage dating back to 1947. Academic and popular sources on Canadian business, culture and history comprise much of the content available through CPI.Q, with only selected North American and international coverage.
     
  •  

    Search across 19 different databases, including the MLA International Bibliography.

     
  •  

    Search across 13 different databases covering broad arts and humanities areas such as music, art, religion, philosophy, classical studies, and history.