Encyclopedias & Handbooks
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication by
Publication Date: 2018
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication employs a broadly-based taxonomy of intercultural communication (ICC) that consists of six organizing themes. Those themes are the traditional ICC core theme--known as "intercultural communication"--and five associated themes recognized as "cross-cultural communication," "cultural communication," "intergroup communication," "intercultural training," and "critical intercultural communication." This encyclopedia addresses issues of ethnicity and race in intercultural communication--not as a separate theme, but as an integral part of each thematic area. It also provides entries outside the ICC's discipline of communication, such as cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology. This work features 256 articles written by 249 authors representing 19 different countries.
APA handbook of intercultural communication by
Publication Date: 2010
"In today's globalized world of international contact and multicultural interaction, effective intercultural communication is increasingly a prerequisite for social harmony and organizational success. The APA Handbook of Intercultural Communication illustrates how the practical, problem-solving approach of applied linguistics can illuminate a range of issues that arise in real-life intercultural interaction. Experts from a range of social science disciplines, including psychology, applied thoughts, and anthropology, describe, analyze, and where possible, propose solutions to language-related problems." "This book presents theoretical and applied examinations of topics that have contemporary relevance in intercultural settings, including power, dominance, discrimination, social boundaries, taboos, conflict, and identity. Applied chapters cover intercultural communication in school, work, and health care settings as well as in intimate relationships and in training environments." "When we use language to interact with one another, we become involved in a continuous and dynamic process of exchange. This fact makes interpersonal communication a fascinating area for behavioral research. During the give-and-take of discourse, the communicators exchange facts, ideas, views, opinions, emotions, and intentions in such a way as to enhance or impede social relationships; create, maintain, and adapt identities; and create or resolve conflicts. In the APA Handbook of Interpersonal Communication, distinguished scholars apply the problem-solving perspectives of applied linguistics to answer fundamental questions." "The volume is divided into two parts that examine both theoretical and applied topics. Thus, the contributors critically appraise the relevance of applied linguistics to not only understanding but also solving everyday language-related problems."--BOOK JACKET.
Cambridge Handbook of Intercultural Communications by
Publication Date: 2020
A highly interdisciplinary overview of the wide spectrum of current international research and professional practice in intercultural communication, this is a key reference book for students, lecturers and professionals alike. Key examples of contrastive, interactive, imagological and interlingual approaches are discussed, as well as the impact of cultural, economic and socio-political power hierarchies in cultural encounters, essential for contemporary research in critical intercultural communication and postcolonial studies. The Handbook also explores the spectrum of professional applications of that research, from intercultural teaching and training to the management of culturally mixed groups, facilitating use by professionals in related fields. Theories are introduced systematically using ordinary language explanations and examples, providing an engaging approach to readers new to the field. Students and researchers in a wide variety of disciplines, from cultural studies to linguistics, will appreciate this clear yet in-depth approach to an ever-evolving contemporary field.
Handbook of Intercultural Communication by
Publication Date: 2007
In today’s globalized world of international contact and multicultural interaction, effective intercultural communication is increasingly seen as a pre-requisite for social harmony and organisational success. This handbook takes a "problem-solving"approach to the various issues that arise in real-life intercultural interaction. The editors have brought together experts from a range of disciplines, including linguistics, psychology and anthropology, to provide a multidisciplinary perspective on the field, whilst simultaneously anchoring it in Applied Linguistics. Key features: provides a state-of-the-art description of different areas in the context of intercultural communication presents a critical appraisal of the relevance of the field offers solutionsfor everyday language-related problems international handbook with contributions from renowned experts in the field
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by
Publication Date: 2015
In 1980, SAGE published Geert Hofstede's Culture's Consequences. It opens with a quote from Blaise Pascal: "There are truths on this side of the Pyrenees that are falsehoods on the other." The book became a classic--one of the most cited sources in the Social Science Citation Index--and subsequently appeared in a second edition in 2001. This new SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence picks up on themes explored in that book. Cultural competence refers to the set of attitudes, practices, and policies that enables a person or agency to work well with people from differing cultural groups. Other related terms include cultural sensitivity, transcultural skills, diversity competence, and multicultural expertise. What defines a culture? What barriers might block successful communication between individuals or agencies of differing cultures? How can those barriers be understood and navigated to enhance intercultural communication and understanding? These questions and more are explained within the pages of this new reference work.
The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration by
Publication Date: 2013
The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration provides a complete exploration of the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day. It includes thematic interpretations and theories of migration, as well as the significant contemporary scientific discoveries and scholarly interpretations that have reshaped the way historians and social scientists analyze and map the past.
To find more online encyclopedias and handbooks on this topic, you can also Search Omni (our library catalogue) (Omni help) as follows:
AND (encyclopedia OR handbook)
Filter your results to include only those that are Available Online.
You can also add words specific to your topic.