Western Libraries

Medical Resources in Archives and Special Collections

University - Medicine

Harvey Club - Harvey Club of London, Ontario was founded in 1918 by Drs. J.W. Crane and Edward Spence. The original purpose of the Club was to promote the preparation, presentation, criticism and publication of medical papers by physicians.

Institute of Public Health

No. 10 Canadian Stationary Hospital

Osler Society - a Western affiliated historical society open to medical faculty members and alumni devoted to medical history was formed in 1927 and named in honour of Sir. William Osler.

Western University Medical School Collection

Organizations

Regional Mental Health Care London fonds

 These include records of the London Asylum for the Insane and its successors (Ontario Hospital, London Psychiatric Hospital).  The records date from approximately 1866 to 1996.  Types of records included are:  Superintendent Correspondence, photographs and operational records.  Regional Mental Health Care London records are on long-term loan from the Archives of Ontario. Please contact the Archives of Ontario for patient information.

 

Women's Christian Association fonds

The Women's Christian Association (WCA) was established in 1874 and operated a variety of services including what are now known as McCormick Home and Parkwood Hospital.  Records for the Women's Christian Association date from 1867 to 2005. It also includes material for the agencies they ran,  McCormick Home (1876-1990) and Parkwood Hospital (1894-1997).  McCormick Home was earlier known as the Home for Aged Men, taken over by WCA in 1888.  The Aged Peoples Home was renamed in honor of Thomas McCormick after he donates his nearby home in 1926 that helps to expand the building.  Parkwood evolved from beginnings as Home for Incurables founded in 1894, becoming known as Parkwood Hospital for Incurables in 1927, moving to current location at Westminster Campus on Commissioners Rd. in 1985.  The WCA was also  responsible for early Women's Refuge and Children's Home and supported the work of hospitals in London.

Types of records included are:  operational records, photographs and a limited amount of information about residents and staff.

 

*Notes: please contact us as there is only a contents listing for the above fonds that is currently not posted to our finding aids page. Some restrictions apply to access.  A Research Access Request Form may need to be completed and a Research Agreement prepared.  Only minimal patient records are held within the above records.

Doctors' records

Contacts

Profile Photo
Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
Archives and Research Collections Centre
519-661-4046