Barnett Legacy Collection
John Davis Barnett donated over 40,000 books and thousands of pamphlets, the largest single gift ever received by a Canadian library, to the University of Western Ontario in August 1918 and became Western's first librarian. Barnett's goal was to provide the nucleus of a national library, and so the donation was received with the understanding that his books would be available to everyone.
Harris Family
Background on John and Amelia Harris family of London, their home Eldon House and the papers held by Western Libraries.
History of Medicine Collection
This exhibit is intended to provide an overview of the archival collection housed at Western Archives. By examining the correspondence, certificates, and pictures, we are able to gain significant insight into the life and times of medical students and doctors at The University of Western Ontario in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
Public Health
This exhibit highlights the history of Public Health in the London region. The Institute of Public Health Fonds that contains textual documents and photos about The Institute of Public Health and Faculty of Public Health at The University of Western Ontario.
Canadian FIre Insurance Plans
These plans are at Western Libraries. Online access to select London and other Ontario fire insurance plans (links on Ontario page are via Library and Archives Canada)
Below is material available on the Internet Archive:
The Drs. Whitby Music Collection
Items digitized from the donation of Drs. Whitby. Donated to the Music Library and currently housed at the Archives and Research Collections Centre.
Gustav Mahler - Alfred Rosé Collection
The Gustav Mahler-Alfred Rosé Collection was donated to the Music Library of The University of Western Ontario in October 1983 by Mrs. Maria C. Rosé, widow of Professor Alfred E. Rosé, who was the nephew of composer Gustav Mahler and the son of Justine Mahler Rosé and Arnold Rosé (concertmaster of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra and leader of the Rosé String Quartet). This archive is housed at the Archives and Research Collection Centre.
Occidentalia (yearbook)
Digital Reproductions of Western's yearbook, Occidentalia, are available from 1921-1974, 1987-1989.
The Opera Collection of the University of Western Ontario Music Library
The Opera Collection of the University of Western Ontario Music Library stands as a significant indication of the scope and depth of the library’s primary source collections of outstanding quality. This collection contains over 2,200 volumes, primarily rare manuscripts and printed first editions of operas and libretti composed between 1597 and 1900. It is currently housed at the Archives and Research Collections Centre.
Scholarship @ Western
General page for access to all Western Libraries Scholarship @Western resources
UWO Academic Calendars
PDF copies for Faculty of Arts [later Arts and Science], 1921/22 -1975/76
Western News (online)
Western News issues from 1972-2018 and its predecessor newspapers, University of Western Ontario News (1965-1971) and Western Times which ran from 1971-1972.
Web Archives
Student Associations web collections
A collection of web resources on Western University student associations, including the University Student Council and the Society of Graduate Students.
