By the end of the workshop, you will be able to:
- Q: How to check whether a journal article can be accessed in the library?
A: Journal Title search on the Library Catalogue
e.g. Computer modeling and reliability evaluation of steel through truss bridges. Structural Safety. 7(2-4), p255-267. Mar 1990.
- RACER/InterLibrary Loans
Request research material that is not available at Western Libraries
Individual account is required
Structured Search Strategy
- Web Tutorial Videos
- Search Strategy Worksheet
Note: The structured search strategy is used on keyword search engines, including library catalogue, databases (except SciFinder), online reference titles (e.g. Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology; Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry).
- CRCNetBASE - online handbooks or books on a wide variety of engineering and environmental topics, including alternative fuel technologies and energy conservation.
- Library Catalogue - books held by Western Libraries
- Review Articles - articles that summarize the key research done in a certain topic; can be found in many of the databases listed below
Key Databases for finding Articles
Questions to explore:
- Is there a way to limit searches to review articles only?
- Does this database cover patents? Conference papers?
- How up to date is the database? Find the latest issue of the journal Powder Technology.
- How can you analyze or refine your results in this database?
- What are the top 3 journals where articles on your topic are published?
- Are you finding what you expected to find on your topic (key authors/papers/conferences)?
- Can you set up a personalized account to save searches and articles? If so, set up an account for yourself.
- How do you export records from this database into Refworks?
Finding Theses, Chemical Properties, Spectra, and Standards
See a list of sources for theses/dissertations:
See a list of library guide pages for: