Designing Search Strategies
- Select keywords from your research topic
- Find synonyms or related terms for each of the keyword you identified above
- Use Boolean operators (AND, OR) to connect your keyword; Combine concepts using AND, and combine alternate terms within a concept using OR
- Select search tools (library catalogue, databases, etc.)
- Conduct your search
- Review your search results and revise your search if necessary
You can use the Search Strategy Worksheet below to help you develop your search strategies.
Finding general and business information
Your choice of topic article databases will depend on your topic. Use the following suggestions as a starting point:
General - these databases are multidisciplinary and can be used as a starting point for any topic
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive.
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts Access was cancelled on April 30, 2016. We are suggesting you use Web of Science
Business, International & Current Affairs
This database provides detailed coverage of business, economic and political conditions by indexing and abstracting the information that is contained in over 1,500 journals and magazines. In addition, the full text and/or the complete image is provided for over 800 of the periodicals. Abstracts may be found as far back as 1971 and the full image is often provided after 1987. Updates are continuous and the most current issues of some magazines are available as soon as they are published.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
This database consists of almost 700 publications covering a wide variety of industries in many different geographical areas. The full-text and/or complete image is available and some of the publications are covered back to the early 1990s. Updates are continuous and the most current issues of some magazines are available as soon as they are published. It supplements ABI/Infom - Global Research by providing access to hard-to-get trade publications.
This collection provides in depth access to a broad range of Canadian business periodicals. It satisfies the information needs of business professionals, journalists, students, and teachers interested in business issues in Canada. Over 400 journals make up the collection, with file depth back to the early 1980s. Trade journals, general business publications, academic journals, topical journals, and professional publications are all included.
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly) includes a wealth of material from Canadian and international periodicals dealing with Canada, such as feature articles from the Globe & Mail, Maclean's, Canadian News Facts, and encyclopaedic reference materials such as Canadian Parliamentary Guide and Canadian Newsmakers.
Factiva.com combines the Dow Jones Interactive® and Business Insights Briefing databases and provides access to news from over 8000 sources, available from 118 countries in 22 languages. There are 96 Canadian publications including The Globe & Mail, Toronto Star and National Post. Extensive company and industry search capabilities are available.