Western Libraries

Chemistry 3371F Library Information Session

This course guide contains information about and links to resources relevant to the Chem 3371F (Transition Metal Chemistry) library instruction session.

Overview

SciFinder is a key database system for chemistry, chemical and biochemical engineering, environmental sciences, materials science, and geochemistry. Its coverage includes journal articles, conference papers and patents from many patent issuing organizations. You can search by research topic, chemical substance, structure and substructure. SciFinder provides integrated access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases  plus Medline.

Registration

Register for your individual SciFinder Web account - Restricted to UWO faculty, staff, and students. Please be aware that your SciFinder account is for your own use only, must not be shared with anyone, and must not be used for any commercial research. Registration is a two-part process and must be completed from within the University's IP range. We recommend that you don't use your Western Identity username and password when registering for a SciFinder web account.

Features

Web version system requirements
Stay up to date with literature in your area using 'Keep Me Posted' alerting feature
"Off-Campus Access" is available

Obtaining Articles

In SciFinder, click "Other Sources" or "Link to Other Sources."
Chemport Connection may take you directly to the Full text, or it may take you to a "Get it @ Western" page.

Tutorials