Western Libraries

Civil Practice & Procedure

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2018

Civil Procedure Journals and Indexes

The Advocate

K1.D86
The Advocate is published six times annually by the Vancouver Bar Association. Subscribers include all members of the legal profession in British Columbia, the judiciary, and many private and institutional subscribers (including courthouse and law school libraries) across Canada and abroad.
The Advocate publishes articles dealing with substantive law and procedural subjects of interest to practising lawyers, together with other columns and material of general interest to those who practise law or otherwise serve or are linked in some way to the legal profession.

Advocates’ Quarterly: A Canadian Journal for Practitioners of Civil Litigation

K1.D87
This periodical covers diverse aspects of civil litigation including issues that arise in proceedings before administrative boards and tribunals. It includes practice and procedure notes; articles and; case comments of recent and significant judgments. Available online via HeinOnline (with 3-year embargo).

The Advocates’ Society Journal (Advocate’s Journal)

K1.D874
This periodical is published quarterly and features articles that deal with substantive law and practice; comments on reform; book reviews; case reports and; advice on trial techniques and office management.

 General Full-Text and Periodical Indexes

HeinOnline

Contains more than 2,400 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.

Index to Canadian Legal Literature

KE173.C664
The Index to Canadian Legal Literature is a bibliographic index to Canadian law journals, books, articles, government publications, audio-visual materials, continuing legal education materials, and case comments. Published in association with the Canadian Association of Law Libraries, ICLL receives contributions from law libraries across Canada.

The ICLL is available electronically in WestlawNext Canada and LexisNexis Academic.  For Law faculty and students with educational accounts the ICLL can be accessed on WeslawNext Canada and Lexis Advance Quicklaw.  1985-current

Scott Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature

KF8.I52
Named after Marianne Scott (first woman to be appointed as National Librarian of Canada). The index is available electronically through the library catalogue of CAIJ (Centre d’accès à l’information juridique), an organization related to the Barreau du Québec. Search interface is in French only but English search terms can be used. The Law Library holds print copies of the index from 1961-2006. Online via catalogue link.

Legaltrac

LegalTrac on InfoTrac Web provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.  Search results link to available multimedia — images, video and podcasts. 1980-present .

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

The ILP&B,  available through EbscoHost, includes access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, books, book reviews and more. International in coverage, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text includes periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, and covers an even broader range of subjects.

Content Includes full text for more than 480 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed,  dating back to 1981. ILP indexes over 1,100 legal journals, 320 law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications.

Earlier coverage is found in the Index to Legal Periodicals & Books: Retrospective (1908-2007)

 

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

K33.I53
Available through HeinOnline, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is produced by the American Association of Law Libraries and indexes articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately eighty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year. Check under the Subjects tab to see civil procedure topics. 1985 to date.  
Print covers the period 1960-2007

Loading ...
chat loading...