Western Libraries

Constitutional Law

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2018

Law Reports and Treatises

Canadian Rights Reporter

KE4381 .A45 C358
This unique series reports cases decided under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. It contains cases selected and edited by a distinguished board of editors and reproduces key Charter decisions in full text. Cases are preceded by headnotes outlining key issues and listing cases and statutes considered. Editors: Clayton C. Ruby and Marlys Edwardh.

Canadian Human Rights Reporter

KE4381 .A45 C355
The Canadian Human Rights Reporter Inc. (CHRR) is a not-for-profit organization established to promote access to human rights law in Canada. Since 1980, CHRR has published decisions of tribunals, boards of inquiry and courts from all jurisdictions, as well as the appeals which flow from them. Many of the decisions published by CHRR are not available from any other source. CHRR also publishes human rights legislation from all jurisdictions.
Available in print 1980-2014. Subscription continues online via CHRR Online http://www.cdn-hr-reporter.ca No password required (access is by IP).

 

The law library has an extensive collection of Constitutional law texts and treatises which are generally found in the KF4483 section of the law library. The more heavily utilized resources are found in the law reserves collection, a listing of which can be searched from the library catalogue.

Canadian Constitutional Law

KF4482 .C3685 2017
In its 5th edition, Canadian Constitutional Law continues to offer a truly national perspective — drawing on an editorial team that is rich with regional, linguistic, and scholarly diversity. This edition remains true to the structure and purposes of previous editions, especially with regard to the editors’ commitment to the idea that understanding constitutional history is critical to comprehending the present and future of Canadian constitutional law.

Constitutional Law

KF4482 .M66 2013
Irwin Law Essentials
The 4th edition of this book aims to provide both lawyers and students with a general introduction to, and overview of, the basic elements of the Canadian constitution. It should also interest lawyers who encounter constitutional issues and problems in their daily practice. By Patrick J. Monahan. Available online via Irwin Law's e-Library.

Constitutional Law of Canada

KF4482 .H6453 2007
2 vol. Looseleaf
The definitive work on Canadian constitutional law, written by Peter W. Hogg, Q.C. analyzes
basic constitutional concepts such as: financial arrangements, the courts, the Crown, treaties, parliamentary sovereignty and delegation; distribution of powers including: criminal law, property and civil rights, transportation and communication, the family, aboriginals, natural resources, taxation, citizenship and immigration, health, and social security; civil liberties: Charter application, limitation of rights, overriding rights, enforcement of rights, expression of rights, fundamental justice, search and seizure, and detention and arrest. The library also has the latest student edition on 2HR Reserve.

The Court and the Charter: Leading Cases

KF4483 .C5 C69 2017
This companion volume to The Court and the Constitution focuses specifically on the Charter of Rights and Freedoms. It features 36 cases that each include a concise introduction that provides context, and an overview of key themes and issues to consider in the decision that follows. Cases are also accompanied by discussion questions intended to promote classroom debate and further study.

This text also features additional cases posted online and a detailed bibliography for supplementary reading, making it a unique resource that is invaluable to anyone studying Canadian law and the Charter.

The Court and the Constitution: Leading Cases

The Court and The Constitution: Leading Cases, 2nd Edition is a revised and updated collection of edited decisions from the Supreme Court of Canada. These landmark rulings are organized to reflect the different core areas of Canadian constitutional law: the division of powers, constitutional change, Aboriginal rights, and rights and freedoms.

Each case has a concise introduction that provides context and an overview of key themes and issues to consider in the decision that follows. Cases are accompanied by discussion questions intended to promote classroom debate and further study.

This text also features additional cases posted online and a detailed bibliography for supplementary reading, making it a unique resource that is invaluable to anyone studying Canadian law and constitutionalism.

Canadian Charter of Rights Annotated

KF4483 .C5 C356
5 vol. Looseleaf
Edited by Eddie Greenspan, John B. Laskin, B.A., LL.B., LL.M., Melanie Dunn , this looseleaf set offers a thorough examination of Charter case law developed over the past twenty-five years. Within each section you will find the provisions of the Charter; the legislative history of the section, comparable provisions of the Canadian Bill of Rights (with applicable case digests), the American Constitution, the International Covenant and the European Convention; and practical and helpful annotations.

The Canadian Charter of Rights: The Prosecution and Defence of Criminal and Other Statutory Offences Law  

KF4483 .C5 C4
4 vol. Looseleaf
This text deals with the ever expanding effect of the Charter on the issues arising in criminal proceedings and the prosecution of statutory offences. Organized conceptually rather than in chronological order of sections of the Charter, this work pulls together the reported and unreported case law determining the impact of the Charter on the legislative provisions, the substantive law and the practice in this area.

The Charter of Rights in Litigation: Direction from The Supreme Court of Canada

KF4483 .C519 S77 1990
Looseleaf
This resource offers immediate and insightful reference to Charter issues and arguments and brief yet comprehensive summaries of the Supreme Court of Canada Charter decisions. It includes analysis of what the Supreme Court has said on key issues; principles of interpretation; jurisdictional issues; digests of Charter cases decided by the Supreme Court of Canada which are now available online with links to the full text decisions (via Canada Law Book).

The Charter of Rights and Freedoms (Essentials)

KF4483 .C519 S535 2009
Written by two of Canada’s leading constitutional scholars, this book surveys the manner in which Canadian courts have come to terms with a constitutionally entrenched bill of rights, focusing on the decisions of the Supreme Court of Canada. The purpose is to explain the Charter, its interpretation by the courts, and its practical application. New to this edition are significant changes to the way the Supreme Court has approached the interpretation of equality rights, constitutional remedies, and most recently the rights of the criminally accused.

Fundamental Justice : Section 7 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms

KF4483 .C519 S74 2012
Section 7 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms provides that “[e]veryone has the right to life, liberty and security of the person and the right not to be deprived thereof except in accordance with the principles of fundamental justice.” This book sets out what these principles are and outlines the place of section 7 in the constitutional order; how courts decide whether a particular legal principle is so fundamental that it merits recognition under section 7; the conditions under which section 7 will apply to a legal dispute; the legal norms that have been recognized, or rejected, as principles of fundamental justice under section 7; and the very limited circumstances in which an infringement of section 7 will be justified under section 1. The book is underlined by the view that the principles of fundamental justice are important to the legal order of a free and democratic society.

The Law of Human Rights in Canada: Practice and Procedure

KF4483 .C5 Z55
This looseleaf service covers human rights law and procedure in every Canadian jurisdiction. Includes a review of the legislation and its application; in-depth analysis, expert commentary and decisions; policies and guidelines on various Human Rights Commissions; and detailed direction on initiating, defending against and preventing human rights complaints.

Constitutionalism in the Charter Era

KF4480 .C663 2004
This collection of essays provides a fresh look at the impact of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms on the constitutional order and debates a range of topics including dialogue theory, the notwithstanding clause, the roles of courts and legislatures, and constitutional interpretation.
Grant Huscroft, Ian Brodie, editors.

Halsbury's Laws of Canada

For over 100 years, Halsbury's has been recognized as the premier legal reference in the world of common law. Halsbury's Laws of Canada continues in the tradition, delivering an authoritative, reliable and elegant statement of Canadian law. Also available online via LexisNexis Quicklaw.

Halsbury's Laws of Canada - Constitutional Law - Charter of Rights - contributed by Dwight Newman
KE180 .H346 C65 2014
This volume discusses the scope and application of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and its interpretation by Canadian courts. Topics covered include: principles of interpretation, limitation of rights, section 33 constitutional override, enforcement of Charter rights and remedies.

Halsbury's Laws of Canada - Constitutional Law - Division of Powers - contributed by Martin William Mason, Guy Régimbald
KE180 .H346 C657 2015
This volume  illuminates the complex interaction between the written and unwritten elements of the constitution, together with the common law and practices, customs and conventions that have shaped our modern legal system.  Topics covered include: sources of constitutional law and institutions; constitutional conventions and unwritten principles of the constitution; courts, independence of judiciary and judicial review; constitutional interpretation; peace, order and good government; criminal law -- federal and provincial jurisdiction; the regulation of trade and commerce; the raising of revenue, the spending power and federal authority in relation to financial matters; works and undertakings, communications and transportation and  labour relations; property and civil rights and provincial authority in relation to local and private matters.

 

Loading ...
chat loading...