Western Libraries

Criminal Law

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2014

Criminal Law Databases

CriminalSource

Includes what was formerly Canada Law Book’s Criminal Spectrum
CriminalSource contains a comprehensive collection of criminal, constitutional, evidence and immigration cases from all Canadian jurisdictions. The full text case coverage on CriminalSource includes decisions from:

  • Criminal Reports (1946-)
  • Canadian Criminal Cases (1898-)
  • Motor Vehicle Reports (1977-)
  • Immigration Law Reporter (1987-)

Content from Canada Law Book’s Criminal Spectrum is now found within CriminalSource including decisions reported in Canadian Criminal Cases since 1898. Also includes a noting-up service for caselaw; federal and provincial criminal legislation; annotations from Greenspan and Rosenberg Martin's Annual Criminal Code (current) and Greenspan and Rosenberg Martin's Related Criminal Statutes; and commentaries such as:

  • Salhany Canadian Criminal Procedure
  • Clewley, McDermott and Young Sentencing: The Practitioner's Guide
  • Bloomenfeld Youth Criminal Justice Act Manual
  • MacFarlane, Frater, Michaelson Drug Offences in Canada
  • Hill, Tanovich, and Strezos McWilliams' Canadian Criminal Evidence
  • Ewaschuk Criminal Pleadings & Practice in Canada   

Available online via WestlawNext Canada

Martin's Online Criminal Code

Martin's Online Criminal Code is an online legal research tool that provides users with access to the Criminal Code at a particular point in time, along with the corresponding commentary.  Available online via the Library Catalogue (Canada Law Book) or the current version from CriminalSource (WestlawNext Canada).

Criminal Justice Abstracts

This online abstracting service covers essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.  Criminal topics covered in Journals from around the world include: criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation;forensic sciences; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction. Available online via EBSCOhost.

Lexis Advance Quicklaw

Review basic Criminal Law content by browsing Sources for the practice area or by drilling through the legal Topic. Look for caselaw digesting services, which may help you to break down your topic or for specialized secondary sources such as Halsbury’s Laws of Canada - Criminal Offences and Defences (Gold); Criminal Procedure (Gold); Firearms, Weapons and Explosives (Brunet); Youth Justice (Wilson).

Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of aneducational agreement between the Law School and LexisNexis Canada. Western Libraries also subscribes to LexisNexis Academic for non-law users (content may differ).

WestlawNext Canada

LawSource provides access to material useful for research in criminal law. The Canadian Abridgment Case Digests for Criminal Law (CRM) are reproduced online, are fully searchable and link to the full-text decisions. The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest is also reproduced electronically and can be browsed or searched. Criminal Law falls within the CED under several topics such as Defences; Offences; and Procedure. Decisions from Carswell’s Criminal Reports and Canada Law Books Canadian Criminal Cases are available from WestlawNext Canada.

Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and Thomson Reuters. Western Libraries also subscribes to a campus-wide version of WestlawNext for non-law users (access  is  restricted  for  use  within  Western  Libraries locations and  affiliates).

chat loading...