Western Libraries

Criminal Law

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2018

Criminal Law Journals and Indexes

Canadian Criminal Law Review

K3 .A4448

This Canadian journal of criminal law features the interaction of defence counsel, Crown prosecutors and the judiciary with leading academics to cover the critical issues that are encountered in the courtroom and, at the same time, that are analyzed in the classroom. Recent issues have examined topics such as conditional sentencing, criminal offences on the Internet and third-party disclosure. The Editorial Board is drawn from esteemed members of the judiciary, leading Crown prosecutors and defence counsel, and outstanding academic theoreticians. Available online via WestlawNext Canada.

Criminal Law Quarterly

K3 .R652

This criminal law journal has been connecting criminal law practitioners to important issues and cases since 1958. Each issue of The Criminal Law Quarterly features a section devoted exclusively to Criminal Appeals in the Supreme Court of Canada, taking into account recent judgments and appeals inscribed for hearing or reserved, and notices of appeal filed, or leave granted. It also includes editorial comments on current issues, and book reviews. Available online via WestlawNext Canada.

Criminal Law Journal

K3 .R647

This journal features in-depth articles and reviews of criminal issues across all Australian jurisdictions. Consideration is given to law reform issues, comments on High Court and State criminal cases, comments on relevant legislation, a digest of recent criminal cases, book reviews and reports of developments in criminal law in Australia and overseas. The distinguished Editorial Board is led by the Hon. Justice Michael Kirby of the High Court of Australia and includes other members of the judiciary, the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecution and leading academics.

The Journal of Criminal Law

K10 .O3848 (Print: 1937-2007)

The Journal of Criminal Law is a practical tool for students, lecturers and practitioners alike. It provides detailed analysis of what is happening in the courts-at every level from magistrates' court right up to the Supreme Court and the European Court of Human Rights. Case notes, commentary and articles are all presented in an easy to digest format. Available online via HeinOnline.

HeinOnline

Contains more than 2,400 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.

Index to Canadian Legal Literature

KE173.C664

The Index to Canadian Legal Literature is a bibliographic index to Canadian law journals, books, articles, government publications, audio-visual materials, continuing legal education materials, and case comments. Published in association with the Canadian Association of Law Libraries, ICLL receives contributions from law libraries across Canada.

The ICLL is available electronically in WestlawNext Canada and LexisNexis Academic.  For Law faculty and students with educational accounts the ICLL can be accessed on WeslawNext Canada and Lexis Advance Quicklaw.  1985-current

Scott Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature

KF8.I52

Named after Marianne Scott (first woman to be appointed as National Librarian of Canada). The index is available electronically through the library catalogue of CAIJ (Centre d’accès à l’information juridique), an organization related to the Barreau du Québec. Search interface is in French only but English search terms can be used. The Law Library holds print copies of the index from 1961-2006.

Legaltrac

LegalTrac on InfoTrac Web provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.  Search results link to available multimedia — images, video and podcasts. 1980-present .

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

The ILP&B,  available through EbscoHost, includes access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, books, book reviews and more. International in coverage, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text includes periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, and covers an even broader range of subjects.

Content Includes full text for more than 480 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed,  dating back to 1981. ILP indexes over 1,100 legal journals, 320 law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications.

Earlier coverage is found in the Index to Legal Periodicals & Books: Retrospective (1908-2007)

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

K33.I53

Available through HeinOnline, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is produced by the American Association of Law Libraries and indexes articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately eighty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year. Check under the Subjects tab to see criminal law topics. 1985 to date. 

Print covers the period 1960-2007

Loading ...
chat loading...