Designing Search Strategies
- Select keywords from your research topic
- Find synonyms or related terms for each of the keyword you identified above
- Use Boolean operators (AND, OR) to connect your keyword; Combine concepts using AND, and combine alternate terms within a concept using OR
- Select search tools (library catalogue, databases, etc.)
- Conduct your search
- Review your search results and revise your search if necessary
You can use the Search Strategy Worksheet below to help you develop your search strategies.
- Literature Review tutorial
- Analyze and critically evaluate past research
- Organize the content by theme not by article/book
- Be selective (5-10 articles)
- Cite properly to avoid plagiarism
Finding background information for your thesis project
If you are new to your topic or would like to start by reading some more general background information, here are some good places to start:
Shared Library Catalogue
Use the Shared Library Catalogue with Western Libraries and the Affiliated University College Libraries to find books (print and online) on your topic.
CRCnetBASE offers instant access to the world's premier scientific, technical and medical references with added support for libraries.
Find trade publication articles using:
Comprehensive and diverse full-text online database that includes coverage of agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and many more subject areas.
Note: On the ProQuest search interface, you can search both databases at the same time by clicking on "Select multiple databases" on the upper left.
Find scholarly journal articles using:
Use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to find out if journal is peer-reviewed