Resources for ECE4416 Course Projects
Find Background Information: Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Handbooks and encyclopedias, aka, reference materials, will provide you with some of the background information you need for your projects. Search the Shared Library Catalogue for both in print and online background sources. Here are a few examples in the field of electrical and computer engineering:
CRCnetBASE offers instant access to the world's premier scientific, technical and medical reference
Electrical Engineering Handbook Series
Here is a list of sources from the Electrical Engineering Handbook Series.
Shared Library Catalogue
The catalogue has many handbooks and encyclopedias that are relevant to topics in electrical and computer engineering. Try using the keyword "handbook" or "encyclopedia" in your search.
Find Scholarly Articles
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
The IEEE Explore Digital Library provides web access to more than four-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly-cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Web of Science
The Web of Science provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.
Scopus is a navigation tool covering the world's largest collection of abstracts, references and indexes of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature. Seamless links to full-text articles and other library resources make Scopus quick, easy and comprehensive.
TIP: Access the full text of articles
- Click at the Get it @ Western button to try to get fulltext online. If Get it @ Western doesn't get you fulltext, search the library catalogue's holdings by Journal Title.
- If the journal issue or conference proceeding isn't in the library catalogue, search for it on the web. You may be able to get it for free.
- If all else fails, order the article through InterLibrary Loan (RACER) (free for most items for Western users).
This database provide global coverage of patents. The database is organized by patent family or equivalents and full text is available for most patents. A detailed description of the database is given here.
Canadian Intellectual Property Office (CIPO) Patent Database
This database lets you access over 75 years of patent descriptions and images. Drawings may be viewed using Adobe Acrobat software.
U.S. Patent Office
Includes full-text of U.S. patents back to 1976. Full images of all U.S. Patents issued since 1790 are now included. Documents from 1790 to 1975 can only be searched by patent number or Patent Classification number. Images can be viewed using a plugin to enable viewing of TIFF files (can be downloaded from the site).
Canadian Standards Association (print)
In Taylor Library, we have the complete current print version in the Reference collection at call number TA368.N383. Several heavily used CSA standards are also available at the Reserves collection, and you can ask the service desk for assistance.
American Society for Testing and Materials
ASTM publishes standard test methods, specifications, practices, guides, classifications, and terminology.
Engineering Documents - Search the world's largest collection of technical standards. Western does not subscribe to the order feature of the database, but you can use it to verify titles and standard numbers.
ASTM is an open forum for the development of high-quality, market-relevant international standards used around the globe. ASTM members represent producers, users, consumers, government and academia from over 120 countries.
Other Research Guides to Check Out!