Western Libraries

ENGL 4220G Writing Women in Early Modern England: Research Guide

Writing Women in Early Modern England: Research Guide

Welcome and Introduction

Welcome!  This is your guide to information tools and sources for English 4220G:  Writing Women in Early Modern England.

Finding Primary Sources

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
"A major research collection providing images of over 100,000 imprints from 1475 to 1700."

Defining Gender (1450-1910)
"A collection of over 50,000 images from original documents relating to Gender Studies."  Includes essays and primary documents relating to Early Modern domestic life.

Perdita Manuscripts
"Perdita" means "lost woman" and the aim of the Project has been to identify and describe all manner of manuscript writing by early modern women from diaries to works of drama."

Finding Secondary Sources

Databases (for articles)

Bibliography of British and Irish History
"Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available, from 55BC to the present."

Humanities Abstracts
"Topics include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, and theology. Coverage: 1984-current "

Iter:  Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
"ITER's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)."

JSTOR
"JSTOR offers the scanned image of each journal page as it was originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Coverage for each journal starts with the very first issue, many of which date from the 1800's."

Literature Online (LION)
"Literature Online Complete Collection contains an ever-growing database of more than 260,000 works dated 600AD to the present"

MLA International Bibliography
"The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. "

Subject Headings (for books)

Women--History--Renaissance, 1450-1600

Women and Literature--Great Britain--History--16th Century

Women and Literature--Great Britain--History--17th Century

Annotated Bibliographies

To learn more about creating annotated bibliographies, visit this tutorial page:  http://www.lib.uwo.ca/tutorials/annotatedbibliographies

Style Guides and Citing

Avoid plagarism! Citation and style guides help you properly credit secondary sources.  Visit the Western Libraries Style Guides page for more information about specific citation styles (eg. MLA).

Citing Sources According to MLA (7th ed.)

A library guide (PDF) to MLA

Interlibrary Loans / RACER

RACER is an online Interlibrary Loan system used to search for material and place requests. To access RACER you must have an account. To create your account, you need to register. If you have already registered, simply login. Please keep in mind that your University ID number is used as your login and your password is created by you.

chat loading...