Western Libraries

ENGL 4320G The Rise of the Professional Woman Author

The Rise of the Professional Woman Author

Finding Background Information

Go to the biographical database, Orlando.
 

a.)  Find the names of female writers, living between 1700 and 1800, who also worked as house keepers. How did you find this information?
 

b.)  Select a writer from your search in 1.a).  Go to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.  Can you find
information about your selected author?

 

c.)  Does Western Libraries have any primary sources (poetry, prose, journals, letters, etc.) by this particular writer?  Check the catalogue.

Finding Primary Resources

a.)  How was the word "consumption" used in the eighteenth century?  Go to the library homepage and click on the Reference Tab.  Find the Oxford English Dictionary (OED Online).

b.)  Find historic sources relating to shopping and consumption in the Eighteenth Century using one of the following tools:

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries from 1500-1900

Defining Gender 1450-1910

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

Eighteenth Century Journals
 

b.)  Answer the questions provided on the rubric.   Select a source (newspaper article, journal entry, poem, etc.) and outline your search process to the class.

Annotated Bibliographies

See Western Libraries' tutorial on annotated bibliographies: 
http://www.lib.uwo.ca/tutorials/annotatedbibliographies

Finding Scholarly Resources

Working individually, find articles about shopping and consumption in the Eighteenth Century, using one of the following databases:

MLA International Bibliography

Literature Online (LION)

Bibliography of British and Irish History

Humanities Abstracts

Use the provided rubric in order to guide your research process.

 

*Try RACER

**For citation help:  http://www.lib.uwo.ca/essayhelp

Other Sources

To Find Background Information:

The Cambridge companion to English literature, 1740-1830
Weldon Stacks PR441.C36 2004

A Concise Companion to the Restoration and Eighteenth Century

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life
Weldon Reference GT31.G74 2004
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Eighteenth Century Writers and Writing
Weldon Reference PR441.B36 2011 

To Find Primary Sources:

17th to 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Early English Books Online
Covers 1475-1700.  Great source if you are studying Aphra Behn or other authors writing before 1700.
Electronic Enlightenment

The Ladies Library; or Encyclopedia of Female Knowledge, in Every Branch of Domestic Economy (1790)
 

To Find Books and more:

Consult the following subject headings:

English Literature 18th Century History and Criticism

Literature Women Authors History and Criticism