Welcome! This is your guide to information sources for ENG 9077A: Food Studies in the Renaissance. This guide outlines relevant reference sources, primary source databases, secondary source databases, subject headings (and more).
Your starting point for library research is the Western Libraries website (lib.uwo.ca).
Summon is a massive search engine that searches the library catalogue and databases for books, journal articles, newspaper articles and other sources. If you want to locate a specific article, key in the article title.
The catalogue helps you locate books and journals and documents in microfilm/fiche format.
Find a specific database via Databases. Find discipline-specific resources by consulting our Program Guides.
If you are working off-campus, remember to log in!
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance DBW Reference CB361.E52 1999
Culinary Biographies DBW Reference TX 649.A1C85 2006
A Cultural History of Food DBW Reference GT2850.C8528 2012
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture DBW Reference GT 2850.E53 2003
Oxford Companion to Food DBW Reference TX 349.D38 2006
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
"A major research collection providing images of over 100,000 imprints from 1475 to 1700. Publications in English and foreign languages printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, Wales, British America are included, plus English books printed in other countries from 1641-1700. Subjects range from popular culture, literature, philosophy, politics and science to religion."
Defining Gender (1450-1910)
"A collection of over 50,000 images from original documents relating to Gender Studies. The source documents are drawn from the holdings of libraries and archives throughout the world, including many from the Bodleian Library in Oxford, England." Includes essays and primary documents relating to Early Modern domestic life.
"This digital collection has been produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University. "Perdita" means "lost woman" and the aim of the Project has been to identify and describe all manner of manuscript writing by early modern women from diaries to works of drama."
Beverages--Early works to 1800
Canning and Preserving--Early works to 1800
Food habits--England--Early works to 1800
Formulas, recipes, etc.--Early works to 1800
Home Economics--England--Early works to 1800
Households--Early works to 1800
Medicine, Popular-- Early works to 1800
Wine and Wine Making--Early works to 1800
Women--Conduct of life-- Early works to 1800
The Cookbook Library: Four Centuries of the Cooks, Writers, and Recipes That Made the Modern Cookbook, Anne Willan, U of California Press
DBW Stacks TX 645.W45 2012
Eating Right in the Renaissance, Ken Albala, U of California Press
DBW Stacks TX641.A36 2002
The English Cookery Book: historical essays, Ed. Eileen White, Prospect
DBW Stacks TX717.E54 2004
Food and Cultural Studies, Bob Ashley et al, Routledge
DBW Stacks GT2850.F63 2004
Food and Culture: A Reader, Ed. Carole Counihan and Penny Van Esterik, Routledge
DBW Stacks GT2850.F64 1997
Food in Early Modern Europe, Ken Albala, Westwood Press
Renaissance Food from Rabelais to Shakespeare, Ed. Joan Fitzpatrick, Ashgate
DBW Stacks PN 791.R447 2010
Bibliography of British and Irish History
"Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available, from 55BC to the present."
"Provides abstracts to dissertations and scholarly articles and books on world history from 1450 to the present." (For American and Canadian content see the database: "America History and Life").
"Topics include archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, religion, and theology. Coverage: 1984-current "
"JSTOR offers the scanned image of each journal page as it was originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Coverage for each journal starts with the very first issue, many of which date from the 1800's."
Literature Online (LION)
"Literature Online Complete Collection contains an ever-growing database of more than 260,000 works dated 600AD to the present (English poetry from 600 AD to present, American poetry from 1603 to present, English and American drama 1280 to 1915, English prose 1500 to 1900, and more). LION also includes biographies, bibliographies (such as the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature), web links and key secondary sources from the twentieth century. Coverage: 600 AD-current"
MLA International Bibliography
"The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. "
ProQuest Research Library
"A multidisciplinary database covering full-text journal access to a broad range of subjects including arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests."
Scholars Portal Journals
"a digital repository of over 20 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline."
Social Science Abstracts
"Topics include anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, criminal justice and criminology, economics, family studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies."
RACER is an online Interlibrary Loan system used to search for material and place requests. To access RACER you must have an account. To create your account, you need to register. If you have already registered, simply login. Please keep in mind that your University ID number is used as your login and your password is created by you.