Selected Online Encyclopedias
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Offers 678 profiles of major writers of long fiction throughout history and the world, including analyses of their significant novels and novellas. Discusses the novel in overview essays by time period, country, ethnicity, and genre, and provides valuable resource material.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history.
Literature Criticism Online
Contains centuries of lliterary analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals, and delivers content in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Presents a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and individuals ranging from Plato and Aristotle to twentieth-century scholars. Contains more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries, providing thorough yet concise discussions of critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. They also examine developments in other disciplines which have influenced literary thought. An international, encyclopedic reference to the field's most important figures, schools, and movements.
Oxford English Dictionary Online
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Selected Print Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Novel
Provides authoritative accounts of the history, terminology, genre, and theory of the novel. Entries explore the history and tradition of the novel in different areas of the world; formal elements of the novel (such as narrative structure, plot, character, and narrative perspective); technical aspects of the genre (such as realism, dialogue, and style); subgenres, including the bildungsroman and the graphic novel; theoretical problems; book history; and the relationship of the novel to other arts and disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature
Offers a survey of the major literary themes and a collection of in-depth analyses of how these themes operate in individual literary works