Western Libraries

Environmental Law

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2018

Course Reserves

Environmental Law 5304

Sustainability and Natural Resource Development 5816

Environmental Law Databases

Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law

Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law contains full-text online editions of market-leading reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press, such as:

  • The 1972 World Heritage Convention: A Commentary, Francesco Francioni (ed)
  • Fresh Water in International Law, Laurence Boisson de Chazournes
  • The Law of International Watercourses, Stephen C McCaffrey (2nd Edition, OUP 2007)
  • Legal Aspects of Carbon Trading: Kyoto, Copenhagen, and beyond, David Freestone and Charlotte Streck (eds) (OUP 2009)
  • The Oxford Handbook of International Climate Change Law, Cinnamon P. Carlarne, Kevin R. Gray, and Richard Tarasofsky (eds) (OUP 2016)
  • The Oxford Handbook of International Environmental Law, Daniel Bodansky, Jutta Brunnée, and Ellen Hey (eds) (OUP 2008)
  • The Oxford Handbook of the Law of the Sea, Donald R. Rothwell, Alex G. Oude Elferink, Karen N. Scott, and Tim Stephens (eds) (OUP 2015)
  • The Rio Declaration on Environment and Development: A Commentary, Jorge E. Viñuales (ed) (OUP 2015)

Books in the following four categories have been selected for inclusion:

  • Authoritative treatises, which continue to define their area of law
  • Black-letter reference works and commentaries, which will help you to answer practical questions about the law
  • Classic works on international law, which remain influential in their field today
  • Flagship publications, which provide innovative perspectives on current legal problems

All titles are fully searchable and browsable by subject matter, title and author, and are linked, via the Oxford Law Citator, to relevant case reports and articles within all of Oxford University Press's online law products.

International Encyclopedia of Laws: Environmental Law

This set in the International Encyclopaedia of Laws covers national and international environmental law. National monographs contain, besides a general introduction, a description of the country’s environmental legislation, an overview of the basic principles of environmental law, the historical background, the role of governmental institutions, and the sources of environmental law. Other subjects covered for each country include pollution control legislation, nature and conservation management, zoning and land-use planning, liability questions, and judicial remedies. In addition, international monographs cover international legislation and treaties and the environmental legislation of the European Economic Community. The Canadian chapter is the latest Environmental Law in Canada book by Jamie Benidickson.

Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation Digital Library

Since 1955, the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation has published an entire library of books and manuals in conjunction with its Annual and Special Institutes. The Digital Library collection consists of more than  2,100 articles from over 200 books and manuals dealing with all aspects of natural resources law and written by experts for the Foundation.

Lexis Advance Quicklaw

Review basic Environmental Law content by browsing Sources for the practice area or by drilling through the legal Topic. Look for caselaw digesting services, which may help you to break down your topic or for specialized secondary sources such as Halsbury’s Laws of Canada - Environment (Lucas).

Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and LexisNexis Canada. Western Libraries also subscribes to LexisNexis Academic for non-law users (content may differ).

WestlawNext Canada

LawSource provides access to material useful for research in Environmental law. The Canadian Abridgment Case Digests for Environmental Law (ENV) are reproduced online, are fully searchable and link to the full-text decisions. The Canadian Encyclopedic Digest is also reproduced electronically and can be browsed under Environmental Law or searched across titles.

Access is restricted to Law faculty, staff and students, who receive a personal password as part of an educational agreement between the Law School and Thomson Reuters. Western Libraries also subscribes to a campus-wide version of WestlawNext for non-law users (access  is  restricted  for  use  within  Western  Libraries locations and  affiliates).