Western Libraries

Environmental Law

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2018

Journals & Indexes

Journal of Environmental Law and Practice

K10 .O3866 (print: 1990-2016)
Discusses and provides insight into current issues in environmental law and policy in Canada. Topics covered include water and air quality control, waste management, reclamation, land use, regulation of toxic substances, noise regulation, environmental impact assessment processes, and environmental policies and procedures. (Available online via WestlawNext Canada starting with vol. 7 1997).

The Golden Gate University Environmental Law Journal

K7 .O4458
Founded in 2006, the Golden Gate University Environmental Law Journal (ELJ) is a student-run journal that publishes articles written by environmental law attorneys, practitioners, scholars, and students from around the world. The ELJ is part of Golden Gate University School of Law's nationally-regarded environmental law program, which includes the Environmental Law and Justice Clinic, the JD certificate program in environmental law, and a graduate Environmental Law LLM program.

Stanford Environmental Law Journal

K23 .T6537
The Stanford Environmental Law Journal (ELJ) was founded in 1978. It is run by students and publishes articles on a variety of issues in natural resources law, environmental policy, law and economics, international environmental law, and other topics relating to law and the environment.

Environmental Law

K5 .N874
Environmental Law, published quarterly by the students of Lewis & Clark Law School, is the nation’s oldest law review dedicated solely to environmental issues (established in 1969). It is a premier legal forum for environmental and natural resources scholarship.

General Full-Text and Periodical Indexes

HeinOnline

Contains more than 2,400 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.

Index to Canadian Legal Literature

KE173 .C664
The Index to Canadian Legal Literature is a bibliographic index to Canadian law journals, books, articles, government publications, audio-visual materials, continuing legal education materials, and case comments. Published in association with the Canadian Association of Law Libraries, ICLL receives contributions from law libraries across Canada.

The ICLL is available electronically in WestlawNext Canada and LexisNexis Academic.  For Law faculty and students with educational accounts the ICLL can be accessed on WestlawNext Canada and Lexis Advance Quicklaw.  1985-current

Scott Index to Canadian Legal Periodical Literature

KF8 .I52
Named after Marianne Scott (first woman to be appointed as National Librarian of Canada). The index is available electronically through the library catalogue of CAIJ (Centre d’accès à l’information juridique), an organization related to the Barreau du Québec. Search interface is in French only but English search terms can be used. The Law Library holds print copies of the index from 1961-2006.

Legaltrac

LegalTrac on InfoTrac Web provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals and international legal journals, including more than 200 titles in full text.  Search results link to available multimedia — images, video and podcasts. 1980-present .

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

The ILP&B,  available through EbscoHost, includes access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, books, book reviews and more. International in coverage, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text includes periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, and covers an even broader range of subjects.

Content Includes full text for more than 480 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed,  dating back to 1981. ILP indexes over 1,100 legal journals, 320 law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications.

Earlier coverage is found in the Index to Legal Periodicals & Books: Retrospective (1908-2007)

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

K33.I53
Available through HeinOnline, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is produced by the American Association of Law Libraries and indexes articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately eighty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year. Check under the Subjects tab to see environmental law topics. 1985 to date.  
Print covers the period 1960-2007