Western Libraries

Environmental Law

John & Dotsa Bitove Family Law Library

Legal Citation

McGill Guide

Law 2HR Reserve

KF240 .C354 2018

Law Reports and Treatises

Canadian Environmental Law Reports

KE3615.8 .C42 (Print: 1986-2013 in storage)

Published under the auspices of the Canadian Institute for Environmental Law and Policy. The CELR features all important environmental law decisions from all Canadian jurisdictions selected by experts in the field. Includes cases dealing with pollution control, radioactive waste, environmental protection legislation and procedure before environmental law tribunals. Articles, annotations and case comments are included. Available online via WestlawNext Canada.

Ontario Environmental Appeal Board Decisions

KEO717 .A49 O57 (Print: 1974-1998 in storage)

OEAB continues in Lexis Advance Quicklaw “full text decisions from the Ontario Environmental Review Tribunal since December 2000 and the former Ontario Environmental Appeal Board from 1974 to 2000". Some French language decisions are included.

 

The law library has an extensive collection of Environmental law texts and treatises which are generally found in the K3585 and KF3775 section of the Law Library. The more heavily utilized resources are found in the law reserves collection, a listing of which can be searched from the library catalogue.

Environmental Law in Canada

2nd Edition (Benidickson)

KF3775 .B463 2016
This book provides ready access to legislation and practice concerning the environment in Canada. A general introduction covers geographic considerations, political, social and cultural aspects of environmental study, the sources and principles of environmental law, environmental legislation, and the role of public authorities. The main body of the book deals first with laws aimed directly at protecting the environment from pollution in specific areas such as air, water, waste, soil, noise, and radiation. Then, a section on nature and conservation management covers protection of natural and cultural resources such as monuments, landscapes, parks and reserves, wildlife, agriculture, forests, fish, subsoil, and minerals. Further treatment includes the application of zoning and land-use planning, rules on liability, and administrative and judicial remedies to environmental issues. There is also an analysis of the impact of international and regional legislation and treaties on environmental regulation. (Publisher)

Online via International Encyclopaedia of Laws: Environmental Law.

Environmental Law

4th Edition (Benidickson)

online e-book
Irwin Law Essentials

Of serious and persistent concern to most Canadians, environmental protection is governed by a complex and controversial legal regime that is affected by constitutional division of jurisdiction, corporate and taxation laws, international trade law, and traditional private law doctrines such as torts and contract law. Statutes and regulations that are specifically designed to protect the environment, and the institutional frameworks within which they operate, are often the subject of competing political agendas.

Within the continuing framework of a comprehensive introductory guide to environmental law in Canada, the fourth edition describes recent developments in civil litigation or regulation of air and water quality alongside reference to key statutory developments from the past five years. Significant changes to environmental law at the federal level in connection with fisheries, environmental assessment, penalties and enforcement measures are highlighted, together with information on important judicial decisions respecting sentencing, public participation, aboriginal consultation, and the status of environmental liabilities in bankruptcy proceedings. The fourth edition provides guidance on analysis and developments associated with prominent environmental institutions and agreements including the Commissioner for Environment and Sustainable Development and the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement. Significant developments at the international level respecting climate law and biodiversity protection are also discussed. (Publisher)

Environmental Law: Cases and Materials

2nd Edition (Doelle and Tollefson)

KF3775 .ZA2 D64 2013
The new edition of this text includes a comprehensive collection of cases, articles, commentary, notes and questions and covers a broad range of topics, including: International Environmental Law; Jurisdiction over the Environment; Compliance and Enforcement; Judicial Review of Environmental Decision-making; Parks and Protected Areas; Climate Change. It brings in an analysis of topics including the constitutional division of powers, the Smith v. Inco litigation, recent Fisheries Act and Canadian Environmental Assessment Act reforms, emerging Species At Risk Act caselaw, and developments in climate change and carbon law. (Publisher)

Key Developments in Environmental Law

K5 .N876
This annual yearbook type of resource features an insightful collection of articles written by renowned environmental lawyers. (Publisher)

The Principle of Sustainability: Transforming Law and Governance

K3478 .B67 2017 
This 2nd edition of this book investigates how sustainability informs the universal principles used in domestic and international law. It calls for the acceptance of sustainability as a recognized legal principle which could be applied to the entire legal system rather than just environmental law and regardless of its international or domestic levels. To this end, the book makes a contribution to a theory of global law by discussing whether, as a universally shared concern, environmental protection and the principle of sustainability should contribute to the 'greening' of the fundamental principles of law and governance. The book will be a valuable resource for students, researchers and policy makers working in the areas of environmental law and governance. (Publisher)

Also available online via the library catalogue.

International Environmental Law 

Dupuy and Viñuales

K3583 .D87 2015
This textbook covers all the major multilateral environmental agreements, paying particular attention to their underlying structure, their main legal provisions, and their practical operation. The material is structured into four sections: (I) Foundations, (II) Substantive regulation, (III) Implementation, and (IV) International environmental law as a perspective. The presentation of the material blends policy and legal analysis and makes extensive reference to the relevant treaties, instruments and jurisprudence. All chapters include a detailed bibliography along with numerous figures to summarise the main components of the regulation. It covers emerging topics such as foreign investment and the environment, environmental migration, climate change and human rights, technology diffusion, and environmental security in post-conflict settings. (Publisher)

International Environmental Law and Policy

K3585 .H86 2015
This multi disciplinary casebook analyzes all aspects of international environmental law and policy, including the major environmental treaty regimes, customary law principles and the development and evolution of soft law norms. It emphasizes the dynamic nature of the law-making process, including global environmental diplomacy and the critical role of non-state actors, including scientists, NGOs, and business. It presents the binding norms of international environmental law, and explains how international cooperation facilitates and strengthens global environmental governance through setting national priorities, coordinating bilateral and multilateral science, financing, technology sharing, and capacity building. (Publisher)

The Oxford Handbook of International Environmental Law

Bodansky, Brunnée and Hey

K3585 .O94 2007
This text takes stock of the major developments in international environmental law, while exploring the field's core assumptions and concepts, basic analytical tools, and key challenges. It is intended to serve as an authoritative and indispensable overview of the field. Although the Handbook focuses on international environmental law, it also examines the subject from a broader policy and theoretical perspective, drawing on insights from other disciplines such as political science, economics, and philosophy. It aims to strike a balance between practical preoccupations and critical or theoretical reflection. Each chapter examines an issue that is central to current scholarly debates or policy development. At the same time, the handbook is structured as a whole to provide readers with both a 'bigger picture' of international environmental law and a more in-depth understanding of its preoccupations. (Publisher)

Routledge Handbook of International Environmental Law

online ebook
This handbook provides a comprehensive and contemporary overview of the corpus of international environmental law from a range of perspectives. It recognises that international environmental law is not a self-contained discipline, but is interconnected with other issues and branches of law, through an examination of key areas where international environmental law intersects with other fields. It includes contributions from scholars in different parts of the world and at different stages of their careers. In doing so it attempts to capture the diversity of international environmental law scholarship in a dynamic and developing field. (preface)

Halsbury's Laws of Canada

For over 100 years, Halsbury's has been recognized as the premier legal reference in the world of common law. Halsbury's Laws of Canada continues in the tradition, delivering an authoritative, reliable and elegant statement of Canadian law. Also available online via LexisNexis Quicklaw.

Halsbury's Laws of Canada - Environmental Law  - contributed by Alastair R. Lucas
KE180 .H346 E585 2013
This volume provides an understanding of the maze of laws, regulations and legal issues that frame the subject area of environmental law. Topics covered include: municipal powers for environmental regulation; regulation of water and air; ozone depletion, acid rain, urban smog and climate change; international environmental issues; and public and private nuisance claims.