Western Libraries

Graduate Student Tools for Nursing

In addition to the recommended resources on the Nursing Research Guide, here are some additional resources you might find useful. You might also want to consult the Research Guide for another subject area that relates to your topic.

Additional Databases

Proquest Dissertations & Theses
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Provides comprehensive bibliographic coverage of a wide variety of evaluation and measurement tools for health and psychosocial studies, for practitioners, educators, researchers, and students. Database includes questionnaires, checklists, index measures, rating scales, project techniques, tests, interview schedules, and a variety of other means of evaluation.

PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.

EMBASE
The Excerpta Medica database (EMBASE) produced by Elsevier Science, is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation. There is selective coverage for nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychology, and alternative medicine. EMBASE is one of the most widely used biomedical and pharmaceutical databases because of its currency and in-depth indexing. Frequent updates allow access to the latest medical and pharmacological trends. Approximately 375,000 records are added yearly.

ccAdvisor
ccAdvisor is a database that contains in-depth reviews of academic databases, websites, and tools. ccAdvisor can be used to learn about and compare databases and tools so that students and researchers find the best recourses for their research.

 

Data & Statistics

Our Map and Data Centre can assist you with your statistics and data needs.  Click here for more information. 

Writing & Publishing

GradWRITE
Through GradWRITE, the Writing Support Centre offeres a suite of services aimed at helping graduate students.

JCR: Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents quantifiable statistical data allowing a systematic, objective way to determine the relative importance of journals within subject categories. JCR is available in two editions: the Science Edition covers about 5,000 leading international science journals from the ISI database; the Social Sciences Edition covers about 1,600 leading international social sciences journals from the ISI database.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Provides data on over 210,000 regularly published and irregularly issued serials including over 47,000 cessations since 1979.