Selected Online Encyclopedias
Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism
Begins in the mid-19th century, when China encountered the West and began to enter the modern age. Coverage includes major political topics, and surveys the arts, business, literature, education, journalism, and other major aspects of China's social, cultural, and economic life.
Japan at War
Examines Japan's military history from the early samurai code of morals to the 20th-century battles in the Pacific theatre. Traces the evolution of war from 700 CE to modern times.
Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism
Examines the historical events, leaders, and society from the 1850s to the present that influenced Japan's development. Coverage includes important political topics, the arts, religion, business, literature, education, journalism, and other major aspects of Japan's social, cultural, and economic life.
Selected Print Encyclopedias
Southeast Asia: A Historical Encyclopedia from Angkor Wat to Timor
Call Number: Weldon reference DS 524.S68 2004
An in-depth, historical encyclopedia of Southeast Asia, with coverage from prehistoric times to the end of the 20th century for each country in the region. Includes over 800 A to Z entries, covering a wide range of diverse historical topics from the Bataan Death March to the Ramayana.
Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia
Call Number: Weldon reference DS 805.J263
Offers information on Japanese society, history, politics, and culture. Colour illustrations accompany nearly 100 feature articles and pictorial essays.