Recommended History Databases to Find Articles
America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. This bibliographic database provides citations and abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations, as well as link-outs to full text. In many cases, embedded full text is supplied. From 1989 onward, the database also includes citations to reviews of films, videos, and non-print media.
Indexes keyword, title, author, and subject access to content published in a dozen Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine (1905-1976), Financial Post (1907-1948), Monetary Times of Canada (1867-1929), Canadian Forum (1920-1960), Canadian Magazine (1893-1914), Saturday Night (1899-1945), and University Magazine (1901-1920).
Provides abstracts to scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on world history (excluding the history of Canada and the United States; see America: History and Life, above), from 1450 to the present. Includes link-outs to online full text; in many cases, embedded full text is supplied. Coverage includes all branches of world history: political; diplomatic; military; economic; social; cultural; religious; and intellectual. Also covers the history of medicine, science, and technology.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Provides bibliographic information on the history of the British Isles, as well as the British Empire and Commonwealth, from 55 BC to the present. As well as providing publication details, BBIH links to library catalogues to help locate items found in research libraries in North America, Britain, and Ireland. Links to online text are included where available.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Includes a wide range of topics: archaeology; multicultural relations; gaming; governance; legends; and literacy. Contains more than 141,000 citations for journal articles, books, essays, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage range from the 16th century to the present.