Selected Online Databases
Selected Databases to Find Articles
Provides abstracts to scholarly articles, books, and dissertations on world history (excluding the history of Canada and the United States; see America: History and Life, above), from 1450 to the present. Includes link-outs to online full text; in many cases, embedded full text is supplied. Coverage includes all branches of world history: political; diplomatic; military; economic; social; cultural; religious; and intellectual. Also covers the history of medicine, science, and technology.
Currently includes full text of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other relevant materials. Contains approximately 4809 history journal titles.
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Contains the data of 2 earlier EBSEES databases, one for 1991-2000, the other for 2001-2006. The unified database includes 85,000 titles, and was developed by the Staatsbibliotek zu Berlin in cooperation with Maison des Sciences de l'Homme in Paris. Coverage from 1975-1990 is available in print only. The addition of new content to EBSEES ended in 2007; no further editing will take place. The end date for each country’s contribution varies.
REESweb: Russian & East European Studies Virtual Library
Offers a list of Internet resources related to Russian and East European Studies. Compiled by a Slavic bibliographer at the University of Pittsburgh Library System. Features monthly updates; provides access to resources by discipline (e.g. music, business, public affairs, sociology), and by type (e.g. multimedia, interactive databases, software, document repositories).