Activism & Social Justice Resources
Indigenous nationhood : empowering grassroots citizens by
Call Number: Weldon 3rd Floor E78.C2P345 2015
Publication Date: 2015
"This book is a collection of the best blogs from Indigenous Nationhood produced by well-known lawyer, activist and academic Pamela Palmater. Her blogs offer critical legal and political commentary and analysis on legislation, Aboriginal rights, Canadian politics, and First Nation politics and social issues like murdered and missing Indigenous women, poverty, economics, and identity and culture. The intent of the blogs and the book is to help rebuild the connections between Indigenous citizens and their home communities, local governments, and Indigenous Nations for the benefit of future generations. Underlying those connections is knowledge and capacity within the Indigenous population to support their self-advocacy efforts and to forge relationships with academics, students, lawyers, politicians, like-minded organizations, volunteers and others to undertake activities supporting the efforts of grass roots Indigenous peoples. For too long and too often, the struggles faced by individual citizens have been forgotten or subsumed under other issues faced by their home communities. Under the current Conservative government, urgent Indigenous issues have been sacrificed for political posturing. Right-wing "academics," news media and others have dominated the public debate such that the information being absorbed by the public at large is skewed against Indigenous peoples. These blogs tackle myths and stereotypes about Indigenous people head-on and provide accessible, critical analysis of government laws and policies being imposed in Indigenous peoples. This book is part of an attempt to develop good old fashioned leadership to work with grass roots people to make the change we owe our children."-- Provided by publisher.
Surviving Canada by
Call Number: Weldon & Education E78.C2S827 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
Surviving Canada: Indigenous Peoples Celebrate 150 Years of Betrayal is a collection of elegant, thoughtful, and powerful reflections about Indigenous Peoples' complicated, and often frustrating, relationship with Canada, and how--even 150 years after Confederation--the fight for recognition of their treaty and Aboriginal rights continues.
The Blanket Exercise
Education E96.2.B536 2015
Fifteen years ago, the Aboriginal Rights Coalition worked with Indigenous elders and teachers to develop an interactive way of learning the history most Canadians are never taught, resulting in The Blanket Exercise. Last completely updated in 2013, The KAIROS Blanket Exercise is an interactive learning experience that teaches the Indigenous rights history we’re rarely taught. Developed in response to the 1996 Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples—which recommended education on Canadian-Indigenous history as one of the key steps to reconciliation, the Blanket Exercise covers over 500 years of history in a one and a half hour participatory workshop. Blanket Exercise participants take on the roles of Indigenous peoples in Canada. Standing on blankets that represent the land, they walk through pre-contact, treaty-making, colonization and resistance. They are directed by facilitators representing a narrator (or narrators) and the European colonizers. Participants are drawn into the experience by reading scrolls and carrying cards which ultimately determine their outcomes. By engaging on an emotional and intellectual level, the Blanket Exercise effectively educates and increases empathy. Ideally, the exercise is followed by a debriefing session in which participants have the opportunity to discuss the experience as a group. This often takes the form of a talking circle.
#IdleNoMore : and the remaking of Canada by
Call Number: E92.C5585 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Print and Online
Idle No More bewildered many Canadians. Launched by four women in Saskatchewan in reaction to a federal omnibus budget bill, the protest became the most powerful demonstration of Aboriginal identity in Canadian history. Thousands of Aboriginal people and their supporters took to the streets, shopping malls, and other venues, drumming, dancing, and singing in a collective voice.
Idle No More lasted for almost a year before the rallies dissipated. Many observers described it as a spent force. It was anything but. Idle No More was the most profound declaration of Indigenous identity and confidence in Canadian history, sparked by Aboriginal women and their supporters, sustained by young Indigenous peoples, filled with pride and determination. When the drums slowed, a new and different Canada was left in its wake. Partially stunned by the peaceful celebrations, but perplexed by a movement that seemed to have no centre and no leaders, most Canadians missed the point.
Blockades or Breakthroughs? : aboriginal peoples confront the Canadian state by
Call Number: E78.C2B56 2014
Publication Date: 2015
Print and Online
Blockades have become a common response to Canada's failure to address and resolve the legitimate claims of First Nations. Blockades or Breakthroughs? debates the importance and effectiveness of blockades and occupations as political and diplomatic tools for Aboriginal people. The adoption of direct action tactics like blockades and occupations is predicated on the idea that something drastic is needed for Aboriginal groups to break an unfavourable status quo, overcome structural barriers, and achieve their goals. But are blockades actually "breakthroughs"? What are the objectives of Aboriginal people and communities who adopt this approach? How can the success of these methods be measured? This collection offers an in-depth survey of occupations, blockades, and their legacies, from 1968 to the present. Individual case studies situate specific blockades and conflicts in historical context, examine each group's reasons for occupation, and analyze the media labels and frames applied to both Aboriginal and state responses. Direct action tactics remain a powerful political tool for First Nations in Canada. The authors of Blockades or Breakthroughs? Argue that blockades and occupations are instrumental, symbolic, and complex events that demand equally multifaceted responses. Contributors include Yale D. Belanger, Tom Flanagan, Sarah King, P. Whitney Lackenbauer, David Rossiter, John Sandlos, Nick Shrubsole, and Timothy Winegard.
Making space for Indigenous feminism by
Call Number: King's HQ1161.M34 2017
Publication Date: 2017 (Second Edition)
"The 2007 first edition of this book proposed that Indigenous feminism was a valid and indeed essential theoretical and activist position, and introduced a roster of important Indigenous feminist contributors. The book has been well received nationally and internationally. It has been deployed in Indigenous Studies, Law, Political Science, and Women and Gender Studies in universities and appears on a number of doctoral comprehensive exam reading lists. The second edition, Making More Space, builds on the success of its predecessor, but is not merely a reiteration of it. Some chapters from the first edition are largely revised. A majority of the chapters are new, written for the second edition by important new scholars and activists. The second edition is more confident and less diffident about making the case for Indigenous feminism and in deploying a feminist analysis. The chapters cover issues that are relevant to some of the most important issues facing Indigenous people--violence against women, recovery of Indigenous self-determination, racism, misogyny, and decolonisation. Specifically, new chapters deal with Indigenous resurgence, feminism amongst the Sami and in Aboriginal Australia, neoliberal restructuring in Oaxaca, Canada's settler racism and sexism, and missing and murdered Indigenous women in Canada."-- Provided by publisher.
The Politics of Indigeneity : dialogues and reflections on indigenous activism by
Call Number: JF1061.P643 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Provocative and original, "The Politics of Indigeneity" explores the concept of indigeneity across the world- from the Americas to New Zealand, Africa to Asia - and the ways in which it intersects with local, national, and international social and political realities. Taking on the role of critical interlocutors, the authors engage in extended dialogue with indigenous spokespersons and activists, as well as between each other. In doing so, they explore the possibilities of a "second-wave indigeneity" - one that is alert to the challenges posed to indigenous aspirations by the neo-liberal agenda of nation-states and their concerns with sovereignty. Timely and topical in its focus on global indigenous politics, and featuring a variety of first-hand indigenous voices - including those of indigenous activists, scholars, leaders, and interviewees - this is a vital contribution to an often contentious topic.
The Winter We Danced : : voices from the past, the future, and the Idle No More movement by
Call Number: E92.W568 2014
Publication Date: 2014
The Winter We Danced is a vivid collection of writing, poetry, lyrics, art and images from the many diverse voices that make up the past, present, and future of the Idle No More movement. Calling for pathways into healthy, just, equitable and sustainable communities while drawing on a wide-ranging body of narratives, journalism, editorials and creative pieces, this collection consolidates some of the most powerful, creative and insightful moments from the winter we danced and gestures towards next steps in an on-going movement for justice and Indigenous self-determination.
To find more resources on Indigenous activism and social justice movements, click on the sample searches below:
Indigenous AND "protest movements"
(Indigenous OR "First Nations" OR aboriginal OR inuit OR metis) AND ("protest movements")
Try other search terms in place of "protest movements" such as "government relations", "social conditions" or "civil rights"
or perform your own search in the library catalogue.
For collection suggestions or more information about Indigenous collections at Western or the Affiliates, contact: