Historical Treatment Resources
An act of genocide : colonialism and the sterilization of Aboriginal women by
Call Number: Weldon 5th Floor, Huron, HQ767.7.S76 2015
Publication Date: 2015
During the 1900s eugenics gained favour as a means of controlling the birth rate among “undesirable” populations in Canada. Though many people were targeted, the coercive sterilization of one group has gone largely unnoticed. An Act of Genocide unpacks long-buried archival evidence to begin documenting the forced sterilization of Aboriginal women in Canada. Grounding this evidence within the context of colonialism, the oppression of women and the denial of Indigenous sovereignty, Karen Stote argues that this coercive sterilization must be considered in relation to the larger goals of Indian policy — to gain access to Indigenous lands and resources while reducing the numbers of those to whom the federal government has obligations. Stote also contends that, in accordance with the original meaning of the term, this sterilization should be understood as an act of genocide, and she explores the ways Canada has managed to avoid this charge.
Clearing the Plains by
Call Number: Weldon 3rd Floor, E78.C2D26 2013; Copies in King's, Huron, and Brescia
Publication Date: 2013-05-13
James Daschuk examines the roles that Old World diseases, climate, and, most disturbingly, Canadian politics--the politics of ethnocide--played in the deaths and subjugation of thousands of aboriginal people in the realization of Sir John A. Macdonald’s "National Dream."
It was a dream that came at great expense: the present disparity in health and economic well-being between First Nations and non-Native populations, and the lingering racism and misunderstanding that permeates the national consciousness to this day.
Healing Histories by
Call Number: King's, RA450.4.I53M44 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-15
Healing Histories is the first detailed collection of Aboriginal perspectives on the history of tuberculosis in Canada's indigenous communities and on the federal government's Indian Health Services. Featuring oral accounts from patients, families, and workers who experienced Canada's Indian Hospital system, it presents a fresh perspective on health care history that includes the diverse voices and insights of the many people affected by tuberculosis and its treatment in the mid-twentieth century. This intercultural history models new methodologies and ethics for researching and writing about indigenous Canada based on indigenous understandings of "story" and its critical role in Aboriginal historicity, while moving beyond routine colonial interpretations of victimization, oppression, and cultural destruction.
Life Beside Itself by
Call Number: King's RC314.S74 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-22
"In Life Beside Itself, Lisa Stevenson takes us on a haunting ethnographic journey through two historical moments when life for the Canadian Inuit has hung in the balance: the tuberculosis epidemic (1940s to the early 1960s) and the subsequent suicide epidemic (1980s to the present)." - Provided by publisher
Nobody Here Will Harm You by
Call Number: Weldon 5th Floor, RC314.S44 2016
Publication Date: 2016-10-01
"Perhaps you are wondering why you are brought down from your home leaving your friends and perhaps family behind. The reason is that you are sick, and if you were left at home, you may endanger those at home. So you are here to get well again... But do not be afraid. Nobody here will harm you." -Mountain Views, Hamilton Sanatorium, 1955 With this quote Shawn Selway begins his thorough investigation of the evacuation of 1,274 Inuit and Cree sufferers of tuberculosis from the Eastern Arctic to Mountain Sanatorium in Hamilton, Ontario, from 1950 to 1965. Selway carefully documents the impact of the evacuations on the Inuit community and has included an assortment of archival images within the book.
Separate beds : a history of Indian hospitals in Canada, 1920s-1980s by
Call Number: Online; Huron, King's, RA450.4.I53L89 2016; Brescia RA450.4 I53L97 2016
Publication Date: 2016
"Separate Beds is the shocking story of Canada's system of segregated health care. Operated by the same bureaucracy that was expanding health care opportunities for most Canadians, the "Indian Hospitals" were underfunded, understaffed, overcrowded, and rife with coercion and medical experimentation. Established to keep the Aboriginal tuberculosis population isolated, they became a means of ensuring that other Canadians need not share access to modern hospitals with Aboriginal patients. Tracing the history of the system from its fragmentary origins to its gradual collapse, Maureen K. Lux describes the arbitrary and contradictory policies that governed the "Indian Hospitals," the experiences of patients and staff, and the vital grassroots activism that pressed the federal government to acknowledge its treaty obligations." - Provided by publisher.
The Indigenous Health and Well-being collection presents a holistic view of health and well-being.
This collection includes resources addressing all aspects of Indigenous health and well-being. Items in the collection address Indigenous health as well as the historical, cultural and colonial factors that affect health and well-being.
Indigenous AND health
(Indigenous OR "First Nations" OR aboriginal OR inuit OR metis) AND (health OR healing OR well-being)
or perform your own search in the library catalogue.
For collection suggestions or more information about Indigenous collections at Western or the Affiliates, contact: